Home Networking Problem - Win2K and Win98SE

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Su-Z-Q, Jul 14, 2003.

1. Su-Z-Q

Su-Z-Q Guest

Could someone recommend a tech who is willing to consult on a small home networking problem and is reasonably priced? I'm a novice computer user with a home networking problem. It should be a simple problem but I've been trying to figure this out on my own for the last 3 months and still getting no where but frustrated. I searched the web for similar probs, checked the forum threads but nothing I tired worked. I think part of my problems is with my Win2K PC being in a workgroup vice domain but no matter how I change settings for DNS etc, nothing works. I'm trying to network 2 PC's at home. PC#1 Win98SE and PC#2 Win2K and both connected into a Belkin Gateway router. Both PC's can connect to the internet with no problem. PC#1 can connect to PC#2 with no problem and can access all shared files. PC#2 cannot connect to PC#1 and gets the following error when trying to access it in Network Places:
    " \\computer name is not accessible. The network path was not found". However, I am able to "ping" PC#2 by name as well as IP address. I've tried looking at groupmembers/domains and several other possibilities, and am totally running in circles and just have to start over again from scratch. If anyone has any advice or recommendations please let me know, and thanks in advance.

2. Xian

Xian Regular member

I would check a few things on the 98 box since the other way is working.

1) File and Print sharing enabled on the 98 machine?

2) Do you have shares created on the 98 pc? Type net view //(computername of 98 pc) in a dos window on the 2000 pc and that should show the active shares it sees on the other pc. Going to start/run then typing \\(computername of 98 pc) should show the same too.

3) Are both computers in the same workgroup and do you logon with the same username on both?