1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do u make BitTorrent download faster? i have been searching the answer for days.

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by mindy2004, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. clipsy

    clipsy Guest

    well... i opened the first website you gave me an said thank you for your advice but i nver said that i've already done it... i didn't want to do anything in the first place because whenever i'm doing something for the first time and alone i usually end up with failure so i didn't want to do anything.. i decided to let it be and wait for my brother to help me...if i were to damage something my mother would kill me...

    i only got once a green light and it was right after i installed azureus vuze or something like that.. but it was only once and my download speed was good too around 120kb/s but with my later downloads on it i got only yellow smiles and the download speed was slow... anyway i installed it on another computer and on this comp. i got normal azureus i think...it's making me go crazy.. i was sooo happy that it was downloading so fast and now it's downloading 4kb/s or even slower and the upload speed is faster.... i swear that i'm going to unistall it after i finish download... oh and it's kind of weird.. everytime i click on 1 of the peers a java window opens up and then if i click ok or close azureus is not responding.. so i guess somethings wrong..
    oh so you're a boy... hmm... misty?? it reminds me of a chacter from Pokemon.. are you are fan or were you?
    thanks for the site but i'm downloading korean dramas..well.. one korean drama....and there is a site d-addicts.. but there are only torrents..:( there must be somewhere a site to direct download but i guess i'm too lazy to search for it..
    edit: i forgot to ask something, if i've done all the things you told me to do to make it download faster, will there be any changes in the router, or just my program or my computer.. or the second computer...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2008
  2. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    When you port forward your router, the changes are within your router but you can make a note of them and change it back or reset your router and put it back to original settings. Not usual but it can happen; resetting my router causes the internet to have to be reinstalled. The static ip is on your computer and affects the way the router sees your address and some of the changes are in Azureus. Connecting directly to the modem, if you can, should fix things. Never seen Pokemon.
     
  3. clipsy

    clipsy Guest

    oh.. so it was a good choice not doing it.... thanks for explanation, and are you kidding me? you've never seen pokemon? they're very popular.. or they used to be... no they're still popular.. for small kids, anyway.. you've really never seen them?? hmm.... then i guess you're over 30 years old...even my cousin who's 29 years old have seen pokemon..
    ok, i didn't want to doublepost so i edited this post again
    ---------------------
    --------------------
    i have a question, why is it that the file size is 701, but i'm downloading more than that? i'm downloading that 701 mb+ about 7 mb..
    why am i downloading more than the actual filesize? us there a virus or is my program going crazy or something else happened?
    -------------------
    ------------------
    when i got to the folder where that file is it says that that file has 701 mb, but i downloaded more, what's going on?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2008
  4. punk82

    punk82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i downloaded the accelerator but when i click run it says bittorrent isnt on my computer so i reinstalled bittorrent but i get the same thing so i read this thread and tried downloading bittornado and still get the same thing and slow download rates how do i solve this problem
     
  5. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There is no accelerator for bittorrent clients that does anything. Most contain spyware/adware.

    Any bittorrent client needs to be cleared through your software firewall and router (if you have one) and then needs to have adjustments made within based upon the upload capacity of your internet connection.

    What is the make and version of your software firewall?
    If you have router, what is the make and model?
    What version of BitTorrent are you using?
     
  6. punk82

    punk82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my bittorrent version is 6.0.3 im usin a 2wire router and i dont know if my router has a firewall enabled but as far as my computer its just using the standard firewall that microsoft provides.
     
  7. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The 2wire probably does have a firewall.
    You can check at Portforward.com uTorrent and Routers for your model.
    When you click on your model you will be taken to a port forwarding guide for uTorrent.
    Since the BitTorrent 6 series interface is identical to uTorrent's that will be your best guide.
    It will show you how to forward your Bittorrent port through the router.

    If you have Windows XP firewall going, you can go to Options>Preferences>Connection and tick the box to enable Add uTorrent to Windows Firewall exceptions and press OK.

    Post back if you have any Qs.
     
  8. TBandit

    TBandit Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @ clipsy

    When you download a file you get it off peers and seeds. Sometimes some unecessary junk gets downloaded as well but its nothing to worry about. These are usually from ips on the banlist anyway.
     
  9. punk82

    punk82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have set my firewall on my computer and router to allow my port that i use on bittorrent to go through but when i have bittorrent test the port it still says error the port is not open and i went back and double checkd to see if i put the port number in correctly, it is. what do i do now?
     
  10. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What is the router model?
    Are you using the XP firewall?
    What port number did you use?
     
  11. punk82

    punk82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my bittorrent automaticly set my port 34885. i have vista, and my router is a 2wire 2701hg-b
     
  12. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    On the router, make sure that the Randomize port each time BitTorrent starts and Enable UPnP port mapping options in BitTorrent are disabled.
    Separate rules should be made for TCP and UDP in the Vista firewall and the router.

    What is your anti-virus software program? (make and version)

    Do you have PeerGuardian or any similar IP blocker? (The BitTorrent/uTorrent sites are listed in the BISS blocklists).
    You can try using Can You See Me just to make sure this is not an issue. Just enter your BitTorrent port and press Check and see if you get Error or Success.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2008
  13. hammad1

    hammad1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi all friends i'm in bit of sticky situation. i am an ethernet user( a cable user), i've been reading this forum for about a week and applying the solutions, but all in vein :(
    my problem is that i'm recieving v.slow speed in my torrents(3,4 kb/s) and i'm using bitlord,i've also heard through this forum that u torrent is the best, i've also used that but it hangs so much that i can't even open it,so do the flashget,i've also used it.
    i've also used asures but now it's tracker connecting takes about 15 to 20 min,i'm confused what kind of prob. it is.
    i've also cheked my ports 6881-6891 from [https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2] and it is saying that these ports are closed but not "Stealth". also icon is always yellow whether i use azures r utorrent r bit tornado r any other .
    i dnt know what router my lan administrator is using so i can't even change r allow my ports to router,
    i've tried all my best last good was finding a sweet spot of upload at 19 kb/s, it hooked me from 3,4 kbs to 10 - 17 kb/s.
    plz buddies, friends, help me out. it'll be great kindness from all of u. thnks.....
     
  14. hammad1

    hammad1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi all friends i'm in bit of sticky situation. i am an ethernet user( a cable user), i've been reading this forum for about a week and applying the solutions, but all in vein :(
    my problem is that i'm recieving v.slow speed in my torrents(3,4 kb/s) and i'm using bitlord,i've also heard through this forum that u torrent is the best, i've also used that but it hangs so much that i can't even open it,so do the flashget,i've also used it.
    i've also used asures but now it's tracker connecting takes about 15 to 20 min,i'm confused what kind of prob. it is.
    i've also cheked my ports 6881-6891 from [https://grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2] and it is saying that these ports are closed but not "Stealth". also icon is always yellow whether i use azures r utorrent r bit tornado r any other .
    i dnt know what router my lan administrator is using so i can't even change r allow my ports to router,
    i've tried all my best last good was finding a sweet spot of upload at 19 kb/s, it hooked me from 3,4 kbs to 10 - 17 kb/s.
    plz buddies, friends, help me out. it'll be great kindness from all of u. thnks.....
     
  15. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    First, if you're behind a router, it probably has to be forwarded to see a green light. Don't use ports under 10,000 and not the default, ISP's can block them, believe Azureus recommends one over 47,000 somehing. One port is all you need for most, BitTornado uses a port range. Use a client that supports Protocol Encryption, only 3 do that I know of, Azureus, utorrent and BitComet but I wouldn't use BC, it's banned on some private sites, only because of a reporting issue, I think. Allow a client through any firewall you may use. Do a speed test and set your upload speed to 80%. Disable UPnP and post back any questions. Are you in school where you can't access the router?
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2008
  16. mickarick

    mickarick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In bit tornado go to prefs then change the port settings to 50505and 56066 should improve your download speed .
     
  17. punk82

    punk82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok ive got my port forwarded and it green my port number is 34885 but my download speed is around 30 or 40 kbps it sometimes jumps to 105 kbps but doesnt stay long what r some ports i can use to make it faster?
     
  18. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you have the green, then messing with the port number won't accomplish anything. 34885 is an unassigned range, so you are fine with that.

    What you can do to make your BitTorrent 6.0.3 faster is run a speed test and determine your average upload speed and make adjustments within BitTorrent based upon that average upload speed.
    This is easy to do with the built in guide at Options>Speed Guide.
    There is a link to a speed test on the Speed Guide screen.
    You should stop all internet activity, including torrents, before taking the test.
    You should take the test several times to get a reliable average.
    Once you have an average upload speed, return to the Speed Guide and on the Connection Type pull down menu choose a speed that is close to yours.
    This will automatically adjust your BitTorrent settings to their optimal for your speed.
    You should also tick the Enable encryption box on the Speed Guide screen.

    If you have any Qs, post back.
     
  19. punk82

    punk82 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i ran 5 tests the highest download/upload rate was 282/332, and the lowest was 82/73 and all the others were in between what should i set bittorrent 2? plus it says isp upload suppression was detected.
     
  20. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Those results have too much variation to be sure.
    Try Speedtest.net and see what you get.
    Make sure your torrents and other activity are stopped for a bit before taking the tests.

    From what I read previously that ISP upload suppression is supposed to not mean anything, but just to make sure, who is your internet service provider?
     

Share This Page