1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOW to backup WII GAMES.(guide)

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by bunny_c, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. Kin_Hell

    Kin_Hell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You sir, are a legend.

    I look forward to your reports. You should create a blog or something.
     
  2. jordan246

    jordan246 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes thansk so much. i just stick to lg gdr and y do people use fridump when raw dump 2.1 (dual layer supported) is easyly the best! is friddump faster..
    yeh make a list and like link everyone wwitht the drives thx mate
     
  3. fatty1234

    fatty1234 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok please help me figure this one out. I take my original game and create the iso file with raw dump. The Iso is the game titile.iso. Everything works great. I burn it with either Nero or Imagburn on the lowest speed. The backup works GREAT!. Here is my problem. For fun I tried to creat an Iso of the backup disk I just created. When I do this, Raw Dump now calls the .iso file it is creating two stange charactors (I dont know what they are called) and the .iso flle is completed and the.iso now has that weird name. When I pull up a program such as Wii Update Manager, it cant recognize the Name, the region code, or anything else on the disc. It still burns and works but what do I need to do to get all that information to burn onto my backups? (and the files are untouched, they are not filtered through any region code programs. I just use it to verify the regions once in a while but never patch anything since all I use are USA NTSC discs. Thanks for your help, and if you dont believe me, try ripping one of your backups and see what it is called. Thanks
     
  4. Dman125

    Dman125 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you dont rip your backup disc, you just copy it. a straigt DVD to DVD copy works
     
  5. baron1804

    baron1804 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    or you can just buy the backups
     
  6. Grid5

    Grid5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got a question if you mod your wii with the chip, does that mean you can only play the back up disks or can you still play reg. games to?
     
  7. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @Grid5
    You can still play both.
     
  8. Grid5

    Grid5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thanks cuz i didnt like want to mod my wii and not be able to play reg. games
     
  9. GinSam

    GinSam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Being a relatively new registered member here (been visiting the site for years - fantasic resource!!), I have read through lots & lots...., well sufficient to say that I have read numerous articles on backing up Wii titles and wondered why most of us just dont use our modded Wii? Afterall - it reads Wii discs nicely :)

    I have a UK PAL Wii, D2C chipset and Infectus Argon modchip.

    I use softdev's DVD-SD Backup Utility (PAL Version) with a Gamecube SD Card Adaptor (Wii-Key SD Adaptor), 2Gb SD Card (Transcend) along with a Gamecube Controller.

    I have not had any issues with backing up any original UK PAL Wii game (Not tried any Dual-Layer yet, as SSBB has not yet been released here in the UK).

    The Process takes an average of 50 mins to dump the DVD, 10 mins to transfer to PC, 10 Mins to join the parts together and the usual 30 mins for Imgburn @ 2.4 speed to record the .iso image.

    Equipment used to burn iso:
    Toshiba Equium A100-147 Laptop (WinXP - SP2) with Internal MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ-8415 Drive
    Ritek G05 Purple -R Media

    Just thought that I would share this with you - and besides, why not use our modded Wiis as opposed to buying a different DVD Drive (Ebay Rip Offs... lol), using RAWDump, FriiDump and avoid 'potential' ensuing issues etc.

    P.S. I only use PAL versions on my Wii, as do my friends; a number of which have a Wiikey modchip, with no issues at all - including SMG. So, the best advice - which is always commented upon, would be to stick to your own 'Region' and have patience - the game will be released!

    Happy Wii-Gaming .............

    Gwa (Gin-Sam)
     
  10. deaconf19

    deaconf19 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have been reading the forums for some time and I have no problem burning games to DVD -R with my burner and playing them. my new question is this. I have a burnt copy of SSBB in Japanese that i play. I just downloaded the US version and want to burn it. This is what i was going to do let me know if this is correct please.
    Iso is created and patched with wiibrickblocker.
    Now i use imgburner. do i place my verbatim DL DVD -R into my drive and click burn? or do i need to do some settings for it to work. read something about a break in the disc and using +r but using a special setting.
     
  11. R0ss

    R0ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    GinSam
    I read your post and it sounded very smart..
    can you please give a step by step guide how you do that.?

    Tnx
    R0ss/Usa
     
  12. Dman125

    Dman125 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You're on your own, downloading games is not supported here. Try this tho, go to your local EB Games/Wal-Mart/Toys-R-Us/Game Dealer and Buy the game. *Note this only works about 100% of the time with no issues*
     
  13. jordan246

    jordan246 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oook here goes ... i have a pal wii with argon 1.7 (1.8 sucks ect..) anyway i got a ntsc ssbb and i play it fine u must allow the update !! NO brick and if u brick block the game it dosnt work....! so do the update all u get is dual chanels and just drae the channels to the other page....

    and yeh u need a layer break code 4 ssbb 2 burn .. go to google and seach ssbb layerbreak code and theres on on afta dawn.
     
  14. brightspk

    brightspk Guest


    hexxxxxx

    Have you actually tried the disk's in a modded wii ?
    The reason i'm asking is Frii Dump often reports a working dump

    But when you actually do test it, no joy.
    The dump hasn't worked.

    If you have, then this is great news.. !


     
  15. kingfu

    kingfu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have read through this thread and have not found an answer to my question (at least one which I can understand). The topic was touched upon in page 11 but a method was not explained. I have a chipped wii and I have made back-ups from my own original games, but now I want to create another back-up of a friends back-up game. Can somebody explain in simple terms how I secure the ISO from the dvdr so it can be regenerated to create a second back-up? Do I need any special programs like alcohol 120 or nero? I am new to all this so no big words please!
     
  16. brightspk

    brightspk Guest


    kingfu

    Any program that copies a DVD to a DVD
    Nero, imgBurn, etc

    RAWDUMP will not copy a RAWDUMP ISO image
     
  17. brightspk

    brightspk Guest

  18. kingfu

    kingfu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    brightspk - you are a don!
    I had already tried nero with no joy(I dont really know what im doing) so I tried imgburn. It downloaded and installed in seconds, and was so simple to use even I could work it out.

    Job done!

    cheers

    kf
     
  19. brightspk

    brightspk Guest


    kingfu

    No problem.... ;-)

     
  20. Grid5

    Grid5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah i just installed a wiikey mod chip into my wii and it still works....so i guess i did it right lol but! when i got to play my back ups it says i dont have a game in so i dont know what to do. i been reading some forms that say i have to downgrade the wii or something do anyone know how i would go about doing that and what to use?
     

Share This Page