how to transfer videos from mini DV to PC?

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by kakarot7, Mar 18, 2008.

1. kakarot7

kakarot7 Member

Hi there,
    Look, I'm a newbie when it comes to something like this. I have a Samsung SCD23 digital Camcorder which records video in DV tape..I just wanted to ask how can i transfer all the videos from tape PC??
    Also what is a Firewire..??

I admire this sites moderators thus came here...plz help.

2. TPFKAS

TPFKAS Regular member

This question has been asked here about a million times :)
    But no problem: answered you quetion yourself, by using a Firewire connection.
    Firewire is standardized connection between digital equipment (like USB). The standard is described in the standard IEEE1394.
    Almost every camcorder (certainly Digital8 and miniDV camcorders) have a Firewire connection which they use for output of video and audio. Usually they are referred to as DV connection; Sony also uses the name "iLink".
    Such a Firewire connection has a couple of very nice features. First the digital video is transferred exactly as it is stored on tape, so you have no loss of quality at all. Secondly, you can also use the Firewire connection to control the camcorder (this is called "Device Control"). This means that if you connect it to your PC and you use a program that knows how to handle this, you can command your camcorder from your PC to fastforward, rewind, play, pause, stop, record etc. You can even do things that you can not do with the buttons on your camcorder, like playing backwards, playing slow motion, stepping frame by frame etc.

If your PC doesn't have a Firewire connection you can buy cards plus cable for as low as $15. They are simple to install and don't need any driver. After installation turn on your PC and it is installed automatically. Then it is just a matter of connecting the camcorder, start your capturing program and start capturing your footage.

3. kakarot7

kakarot7 Member