1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can't install CD-DVD-ROM Generator

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by johnr283, Jan 6, 2022.

  1. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm trying to back up BloodRayne 2. I have CD-DVD-ROM Generator, but I can't install it. When I click setup the install shield runs but then disappears and nothing further happens. I'm using Windows 10 64 bit and I've tried running the setup in XP compatibility mode.
     
  2. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I don't know anything about that program but, usually, when a process disappears, it's still working. Have you looked at Task Manager, Appications when you try to run it to see if it's listed? You might also right click on the .exe file and select "run as administrator." I assume your installing v2.

    Is BloodRayne 2 on a disc or is it a file? Is it possibly copy protected?
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2022
  3. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've tried "run as administrator", nothing.
    I've tried v1.5 and 2.0.
    I'm using a file which I ripped from my disc.
     
  4. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Not sure what you mean by your last sentence. Are you talking about the CD...........Generator?

    As I asked, is the game on disc or your computer?
     
  5. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've tried v1.5 and 2.0 of CD-DVD-ROM Generator.
    BloodRayne 2 is an iso file which I ripped from a disc.
     
  6. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You still didn't answer my question.

    However, if you right click on the ISO, there should be an option to "Burn disc image". You don't need the generator.
     
  7. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If the game is in ISO format, then all he has to do is mount it and it will run like it's in an optical drive. If he's using Windows 10 then he doesn't need an external software to mount it.

    So the first question should be, what operating system is he using?
     
  8. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just to be clear: I'm trying to make a backup of my BloodRayne 2 Disc to play on my PS2 using SwapMagic. The iso contains dummy files which is why I need to rebuild it using CD-DVD-ROM Generator. I'm using Windows 10 64 bit.
     
  9. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    128
    What do you mean by rebuild it? Is the Disc 2 a complete copy of the original BllodRayne 2 Disc straight to ISO? A play disc has a specific structure that has to be maintained in order for it to play. Just having copies of the original files from the disc won't work.

    Do you still have a copy of the original PS2 disc?
     
  10. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes it's a 1:1 copy. But but it has dummy files white prevent it from being played. The dummy files need to be edtied/removed. Yes I have the original disc.
     
  11. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm a little confused. Can you use the original disc? If so, burning it as an image file shouldn't change that.
     
  12. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, the original disc works, but it's copy protected via the dummy files. Only select ps2 games have this.
     
  13. johnr283

    johnr283 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know how to burn PS2 games, I've been doing it for years. My problem is not with getting the game to work, it's installing CD-DVD-ROM Generator.
     
  14. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    128

    Have you tried other software engineered to copy games such as Blindwrite?
     
  15. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I wonder if he would upload one of his Generator installation files to a site such as one drive, dropbox, wetransfer, etc., share it, get a link and post the link here so I can download it?
     
  16. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    128

    Physical p
    Unless you have a PS2, and BloodRayne disc 1, you have no way of testing the result to see if it worked. You could use an emulator but all that would tell you is that it works on your PC. He's able to burn his disc but it won't play in his PS2. Sony has a history of using physical copy protections to prevent duplication of their games and movies. What he needs is a software that will copy it to his PC while stripping out the physical protections, so that it can be burned and play on his PS2. Now that we know he has Win 10, it's possible to install the software he's having an issue with. Have you tried that yet?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2022 at 15:51
  17. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    128

    Unless you've found a copy that is clean, I'm not certain why you would even want to try to download it let alone install it. Malwarebytes and TotalAV blocked me from accessing the download site because of Malware. I found a copy of version 1.5 from another site and it was infected too. So perhaps you really should look for another option. If you can get your hands on Blindwrite or GameCloner, you might do well to give them a try first.
     
  18. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    This thread-

    https://forums.afterdawn.com/threads/cd-dvd-generator-help.389460/

    outlines the complete process for what he wants to do.

    I wanted the Generator he's using to see if I can install it in Vista. Like you, there doesn't seem to be any downloads available on the web or the downloads are blocked. Maybe I misunderstand and the file is only on disc.
     
  19. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I managed to download a copy but most of the sites hosting it were blocked by my security software. Even the copy I downloaded contained malware. So I deleted it.
     

Share This Page