1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Matrix Infinity 1.99 vs ModBo 4.0 vs ? = No Brainer? ModChip comparison

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Spixe, Jul 4, 2009.

1. Spixe

Spixe Member

Quick question for you mod pros...

I lost my poor swapmagic dvd which I've been using for 3 years now (great thing), and instead of getting a whole set again, I'm thinking about opting for a $10-20 modchip instead. It'd be nice to play off the HDD without using a HDAdvance disk. I narrowed the cheaper choices down to the ModBo 4.0 for $20, and the Matrix Infinity 1.99 for $11.

Can any experienced users give me their opinion on which is the better buy? I mainly use ONLY backed up DVD5 and DVD9's (sadly swapmagic couldn't handle D9's), and if possible, I'd like to be able to play games off the HDD without using HDAdvance. My PS2 is v9. Thanks for any pointers

2. smokyrain

smokyrain Senior member

I would go with the Matrix Infinity, seeing they are back in business with new firmware now.

The modbo are clone of the Matrix.

3. Spixe

Spixe Member

Sweet, thanx, ur the 2nd to say they recommend the infinity, so i'll grab it. i don't suppose you know if it supports playing off a HDD?

4. smokyrain

smokyrain Senior member

I don't know much about the 1.99 but the 1.93 supported it, so am sure the latest firmware does.

You will be able to use Dev modes, meaning you can launch ELF files from memory card or hdd.

Here is a tutorial for running infinity manager on the Matrix 1.93
    http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=matrix/matrix_tut.html

5. Spixe

Spixe Member

Sweetness, thanx a ton for this info, just what i was looking for, much obliged!

6. nhc125

nhc125 Member

Hi,

Just to add on if you haven't decided, I have installed Matrix v 1.99 (Clone) and everything works fine!

I can play all types of games, dual layer, original, backup.