1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Medal of Honor

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by aj_101, Sep 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aj_101

    aj_101 Guest

    Hi, I got downloaded medal of honor allied assault cd1 and cd2 (iso file). i extracted it, and i started the set up. when the installing begins, it asks for you to put the next cd in, WELL i tried some stuff like i tried to put the file i extracted to(it didn't work), but if there are anyone out there, pleaz tell me what to do, because i'm very excited about this game! Thank you!
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    ISO's are supposed to be burned to cds. They're image files. Extract the second iso to a new folder. When they ask for the second cd, browse to the folder that you extraced the iso to and it should read it as a cd.
     
  3. aj_101

    aj_101 Guest

    Have you tried this, because i put the cd2 files into another folder named cd2 and it doesn't work. thanks
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No, I didnt. I bought the game. You should use Nero Burning Rom to burn both cds, that way it will read the second cd. Usually that folder trick will work for a lot of stuff. Probably just a game protection issue or something.
     
  5. aj_101

    aj_101 Guest

    Hey, i installed the game,yes it went through, but here is the bad part, when you start the game it starts but then says:: "Please insert the correct cd, click ok, and restart the game"

    hmm, i wonder what to do, i could use nero, but any suggestions?
    thanks
     
  6. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    When you download games, they are just iso's (images of cds). It depends on how good your burner can handle an iso. If its not a great burn, the game can recognise its dublicated.

    There is a way around this, AN ILLEGAL WAY. Crackers often make crack files that remove cd checks. They share these in p2p file sharing apps. Note however, if you get caught with cracked software, your well you get the idea.
     
  7. bluedvl

    bluedvl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    instead of burning the cd just go a and download DAEMON Tools V3.02, an emulation software so that you can mount ISO image file as vitual DVDrom or Cdrom drives. but before you use it make sure to read the readme file to make sure that it's compatible with your system and software
     
  8. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ye, but in this situation, two cds (isos) were needed for one setup. I think he got it anyway!!
     
  9. neo0918

    neo0918 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey im trying do burn the iso on to a cd but its too big to fit on the cd...im using nero so is there anyway around this
     
  10. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Too Big????

    If its Medal of honour it shouldn't be and yes, there is a way around this if its only one cd required.

    Yu can download cdrwin5.0 and click test image. Find your iso and you'll see a place to drag it to!

    This will create a simulation cd drive in your "My Computer" folder and will probably autorun anyway.


    However, I have a particaluar interest in your iso being too big. Could you tell me what size the iso itself is & what way you tried to burn it with nero???
     
  11. neo0918

    neo0918 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I fixed the too big problem, but when i extract the files from the iso 1 and burn it to a cd the setup still wont execute any help would be much appreciated.
     
  12. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    God dont do that!!!!. Instead of extracting those files and then burning, download nero and click file - burn image. You'll be able to understand the rest!

    Sometimes, iso's hold data that only burning software can read. This could be a hidin bit of data that setup searches for to check for piracy!
     
  13. skyhook

    skyhook Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    After much mukkin' round I was able to extract the iso.exe files using IsoBuster, then burned each CD file onto CDs. Also downloaded noCD from P2P which works well. I was stopped after "Training" but soon learned to get to the first mission in the briefing room. Hit "Ent" key when the mission box is open, then select difficulty. Enjoy
     
  14. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You know we could all avoid this if we just bought the games!!

    ye right!! lol

    Not that I download games or anything!! I'm, just saying like!!! ye!
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2002
  15. cda911

    cda911 Guest

    I too downloaded the MOHAA ISO files from Kazaa, and originally extracted them using an ISO program, which seemed to work, until about 1/3 of the way through the install, it would say "please insert other disk." I would point it to the other ISO file and it wouldn't work. Then I saw this thread and tried buring the ISO files directly onto CDs w/ Nero, but there would always be errors while burning. Finally, I downloaded Daemon Tools and mounted the ISO files in virtual CD drives, which seemed to work fine, until once again 1/3 of the way through the install it says "cannot find file, please insert other disk" and again I'd point it to the 2nd ISO file and it wouldn't work. Could anyone help me out? Thanks!
     
  16. neo0918

    neo0918 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I burned the image files using nero and clicking burn image and now it cant read the data on the cd...i dont know what went wrong
     
  17. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Where did you get the iso?
     
  18. neo0918

    neo0918 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  19. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Forget kazaa!!! When it comes to cd images, kazaa sucks most of the time. Instead learn how to use edonkey2000 http://www.edonkey2000.org

    Then visit http://www.sharereactor.com

    ShareReactor indexs files from edonkey that have been checked and are legit. Edonkey does take longer to download but thats something we all have to get used to!
     
  20. cda911

    cda911 Guest

    OK, I finally got the game installed using WinISO, and I did the basic training mission, and when I select the first mission which was "Azrew" and click on the Difficulty level, the game quits and the console says: "Tried to read from a zip file maps/briefing/briefing1.min that was not open." I tried manually unzipping all those "pk1/pk2" etc files, but that didn't work either. How can I get the missions to work? Can anyone help me get started actually playing the game? Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page