mencoder to go from mpeg2 -- xvid

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by greysky, Oct 8, 2005.

  1. greysky

    greysky Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Here's the script I'm currently using to encode MPEG2 (720x480) --> xvid (512x384) on win32 using MPlayer-mingw32-dev-CVS-050928.

    ///batch file///
    mencoder -ovc xvid -vf scale=512:384 -sws 9 -xvidencopts pass=1 -nosound -o test-1.avi test.mpg
    mencoder -ovc xvid -vf scale=512:384 -sws 9 -xvidencopts bitrate=1100:pass=2 -oac mp3lame -lameopts fast:preset=standard -o test-final.avi test.mpg
    ///end of batch file///

    Firstly, there are several questions I have for people who know:

    1. Am I missing any options?
    2. How can I alter this to be a 3 or 4 pass encode?

    Secondly, when I use that script I do get a file out that plays under Windows (mplayerc) just fine; however, one problem is that the resulting file has problems in virtual dub and virtualdub mod giving an error, "Warning: nothing to output bframe decoder lag."

    Also, if I demux the mp3 file and analyze it with mrquestionman or encspot, I don't see the correct results. Mrquestionman usually shows the switches one used to encode (in this case --alt-preset fast standard). Additionally, the vbrheader is all messed up. The bitrates usually jump between 128,224,256 etc. in normal files. The demuxed file just hovers around 190 jumping by 1 kbps or so.

    Can anyone suggestion what I'm doing wrong?
     
  2. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    1. You are missing -passlogfile.
    2. Doesn't look like you can since pass only accepts 1-2.

    That is because the default settings are 2 bframes without packed bitstream and you are decoding via VfW. VfW can't properly handle bframes, the message is inserted by the decoder, however I thought it was removed and replaced with a black frame some time ago?
     
  3. greysky

    greysky Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the reply. I lookedup the passlogfile switch in the manual and this is what it said:

    Doesn't that just allow me to rename the log file?

    About the 2 pass, you're right, I was reading the section on vpass=<1-3> and got confused... what's the difference?
     
  4. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    vpass is for libavcodec. So you could for instance run three passes with libavcodecs mpeg-4 codec.

    Better to specify a log file I think so as to not overwrite/use the wrong one.
     

Share This Page