1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mod Help! JF cant find locate hitachi..

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by jbrandner, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. jbrandner

    jbrandner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am so sorry to bother yall with this but I have spent hours searching....I am trying to upgrade my hitachi to the new LT+. I am using the same CPU, same sata cord, same xbox and same sata port that I originally modded with. I cannot locate anything but my CPU dvd drive when I select the hitachi tab in JF. I have tried all four connections for the sata cord, I have tried plugging it in after, during and before the launch of JF. The only thing different is that I have a Windows 7 but is the 32 bit version. I installed the Port I/O and it shows up in my device manager. I dont know if I needed to do that but I cant get my drive to show up in JF. Am I missing something? Am I supposed to somehow put it in Mode B and then open JF? Its been a while since I modded so I cant remember. I have a 78 and 79 Hitachi. Also, the only option available is Win API. I thought I used Port last time but maybe not. When I go to the dvd32 tab and select viaport it says none are available so the port I/O selection is unavailable in the hitachi tab. I sincerely thank you so much for taking the time to help me this is driving me u nuts!
     
  2. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok first of all are you running JF as Admin? if not that could be your problem, also you will have to use the unlock cd.
     
  3. palwill

    palwill Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i had the same exact problem when flashing mine, try using an older version to put your drive in mode b and restore to original firmware, then open up the most recent jf and flash.
     
  4. jbrandner

    jbrandner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I have to put the original firmware on and then upgrade toLT+ for my hitachi? If so, how can I recover my origianl firmware and key? My CPU crashed so the file I saved when I first flashed the drive is gone.
     
  5. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what is the firmware you have on it now? it all depends on what firmware you have on the drive, if it is 1.51 then you will not have to flash to stock
     
  6. jbrandner

    jbrandner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If anyone could take the time to post a step by step to take my 79 to stock then to LT+ using JF I would be so grateful. I dont have my drive key so I am scared to mess with trying to recover it. I did find a copy of the original firmware on the net.
     
  7. jbrandner

    jbrandner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yea, I think its 1.51. How can I determine what firmware it is? It may be 1.61 but pretty sure its 1.51!
     
  8. jbrandner

    jbrandner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    By the way you are awesome for taking the time to help a stranger!
     
  9. jbrandner

    jbrandner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    and still having trouble with JF recognizing my drive. I have the unlock CD and I am running as Admin....
     
  10. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    do you have the portI/O ticked?
     
  11. simian340

    simian340 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a similar problem. I have an old 360 that finally got hit with the RROD and no fixes would bring it back to life. But since the drive is still good I decided to pick up a used 360 off of CraigsList that runs great but the laser is no good (won't read dsics). I am using Windows XP and have a VIA Sata Card with Chipset 6421 and have flashed several other drives (Hitachi 47, LiteOn, BenQ) for myself and others with no problems. However this 360 that I picked up has a Hitachi 78 drive and I am unable to get this drive into ModeB. I do have PortIO drivers installed and have VIA ports Only selected but Use Port IO is disabled on the Hitachi GDR3120 tab. Here are the results from JF.

    Any suggestions on what I can do to get this drive into ModeB so I can extract the keys?
     
  12. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i had the same issues on xp,i would have to install my via drivers again so my pc would pick up the drive,then i would delete the viaraid of my drivers folders so it wouldnt freeze with the LO
     
  13. deejay248

    deejay248 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had a nightmare trying to flash a hitachi a while back even though i had done many before. In the end i used my onboard sata to do it as my via card (which has always worked before) decided it wasnt going to play ball.
     
  14. cab0747

    cab0747 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hitachi's are annoying. Maybe one of the reasons Microsoft may leave them alone (for the msot part) with the new dash ;)

    Try this: Turn on the xbox with the drive conencted. Eject the tray. Pull the power cord from the back of the console. Wait a few seconds. Plug it back it. HOLD THE TRAY OPEN AND TURN THE POWER ON. Then open JF and it should atleast be detected. You may have to set mode B still.
     
  15. simian340

    simian340 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Update - I reloaded the drivers for my SATA card and was able to get the key off of the failing Hitachi 78 drive. Then I was having trouble with JF because it kept reflashing my replacement drive with its current key rather than the new key I was trying to spoof. So I got out a copy of 360FW-Toolbox-v4.8 and was able to directly flash the drive with the LTPlus firmware and the old key. There really should be an option in JF not to dump the original key before performing the flash. Otherwise it's an amazing tool.
     

Share This Page