1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modded PS2 won't boot...but it used to.

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Wonkimus, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. Wonkimus

    Wonkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi guys, total noob here. I have a slim modded PS2 that I got earlier this year. It's a modbo chip, not sure which model #. 4.0 modbo perhaps.

    Anyway the problem I have is this. When I first got it it worked fine. I had the matrix screen. I haven't used it in a few months, but I just turned it on today. I get a blank black screen when I boot the PS2. If I hit the reset button, then I get the regular PS2 boot screen and can't load any import games. It does work with regular US PS2 games, though.

    I never messed around with the configuration, it's just that after a few months of not using it, it won't work anymore.

    Is there anything I can try to fix this or is the chip dead???

    Thanks!
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Are you able to BOOT and enter the Configuration Menu, holding TRIANGLE AND CIRCLE at power on.

    Here is the whole list of shortcut buttons

    Circle - Boots Chip/system into PSX DVD Video mode. This forces the PS2 to either play PS1 games or DVD movies.

    Triangle - Forces the system to boot the Infinity Manager (if installed - To install, please refer to the Infinity Manager section in this tutorial)

    Cross - Forces the system to bypass settings and boot to the Sony Browser with the chip enabled.

    Start - This Disables the chip. Once this is done, tap the standby button to reset the system to finish disabling the chip. To Re-enable the chip you must place the system into standby.

    Select - This forces a Fast boot on PS2 games. Basicly skipping the startup animation and PLaystaion 2 Logo on disc boot.

    R1 - This boots a homebrew ELF file from the first memory card (mc0:/BOOT/BOOT.ELF) If installed - To install, please refer to the DEV1 section of this tutorial.

    L1 - This boots a homebrew ELF file from the hard drive if installed (hdd0:/__boot/boot.elf) To install, please refer to the DEV2 section of this tutorial.

    To enter the Configuration Menu, hold TRIANGLE AND CIRCLE at power on.
     
  3. Wonkimus

    Wonkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Smokeyrain. Thanks for your reply. I keep the system unplugged since I don't use it every day. When I plug it in, all I get is a blank black screen. It doesn't matter what buttons I press, nothing happens. Should I try and press something before the system is turned on and hold it down? I can't get to the configuration menu or anything else.

    If I hit the reset key on the PS2, then it just starts the regular way, no Matrix screen, and can only play regular US games.
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I am no modchip expert by any means.

    YOur boot manager settings may be corrupted, I am not sure.

    So you might have to reinstall the firmware and boot manager again.

    You can find them at sksapps.com
     
  5. Wonkimus

    Wonkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks! I just tried this but I had the same result...also when I put in the CD's with the firmware and boot manager I got some clicking sounds...maybe I burned them incorrectly?
     
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    How did you burn the CD. You are using CD-R, try burning with imgburn at 16x speed, unless you did that already.

    You may want to post your first post or direct to this thread over at psx scene or sksapps.com in the modchip section.

    psx scene is the official Matrix forum. They know more than me.
     
  7. Wonkimus

    Wonkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks again, I was using Nero.

    I'll try what you suggest. Good thing is, I got in touch with the guy I got the premodded system from and he's offered to fix it for me for free. So, if this doesn't work, I'll send it back to him.
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Oh well that is good of him. Good luck with it.
     
  9. Wonkimus

    Wonkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Good news, I did exactly what you said -- used imgburn at 16x and reinstalled the firmware. It works now! No need to waste $$$ sending this thing halfway around the world! Thank you so much!!!
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Perfect. Glad it worked out.
     
  11. mindreave

    mindreave Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Did some forum searching and came up with this tread. I have the exact same issue, it seems. When I connect power and load up, I get a blank screen, and it resets to a non-modchip load.

    How can I tell which firmware to get? I see a list of matrix bios'es and did a little reading. The Matrix Infinity tutorial says to definitely not upgrade the firmware or it will kill the chip, and this worries me.
     
  12. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You need to know exactly which clone you have , in order to know what firmware you need to install.
     
  13. mindreave

    mindreave Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    According to the seller, it's a "modbo 760 V13" was the description, though I'm pretty sure v13 referred to the slim ps2 model.
     
  14. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    They come with the 1.93, so you can safely use it.

    I also think they now use the 1.99, but I can't verify that for sure.
     
  15. mindreave

    mindreave Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for all the help. I've got cds with the 1.93 firmware and boot manager. Now I just need a good way to boot the firmware installer.

    If I power on after having it unplugged for about an hour, I get stuck at a blank unresponsive screen. If I power off and back on or just hit reset, it tells me to insert a proper ps1/2 disc.

    If this doesn't pan out well, I'll probably just end up playing my original copies again, so it's not a big deal. It's getting harder to find pre-modded systems for sale lately though.
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    did you do like I mentioned above in previous post to burn at 16x speed on verbatim cd-r or good media.

    Put Upgrade CD into PS2 and put PS2 into standby.
    Press "reset button" and keep pressed until blue light turn ON (on V1-V11).
    (For the V12 press reset button from standby for 2-3 seconds as there is no blue light).
    Leave "reset button" and Upgrade CD will boot.
    Follow on-screen instructions to complete the Upgrade procedures.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2009
  17. mindreave

    mindreave Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, 16x on a blank verbatim cd-r.

    Followed the instructions for the matrix infinity firmware install to no avail. Holding the power button for 2-3 seconds either does nothing or I hold it too long and it powers the slim back off.

    For now, I've dug up my old fmcb card out of the box and am using that.
     
  18. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok well the fmcb is ok, but too have your modchip working would also be good.

    Check this link, scroll about 3/4 way down.

    Not sure if it will help or not.
     

Share This Page