1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moded 75002 - wont play backed up disc's

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by NZ_Dino, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all. I'm new to this forum, please bare with me.

    I have modded many original (fat) PS2's with Modbo 4 (version 1.99), all with 100% success. I'm now just having a go at some slim line ones. Moded my first 70002 (with laser fix)...all good. Then tried a 75002, would boot up and play original discs perfectly (showed the matrix logo), but would not play copied games. If I did a reset (not a full power off), then on the next boot, the Matrix logo didn't show!! I then tried 2 different PS2's (75002) and the same thing happened. Thought it might be the chip....but no, I installed it in a 39002, and it worked perfectly. So I paid someone else to insatll a Modbo 4, and a 4th 75002, and he came up with the same result.

    Please help.......I'm going nuts.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Stabby

    Stabby Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you're not getting the Matrix logo, that kinda tells me the bios wires aren't connected properly. If it is intermitant, could be a cold solder joint. If it doesn't work at all, either a wire is in the wrong spot or not connected at all.

    If you get the Matrix logo and you can't read backups, look at points: B, G, H, and I. Soldering to those vias can be a pain in the butt. If your board has solder mask (green film) over the via holes, use an Exacto or similar razor knife to scrape away the mask exposing the copper underneith. Use a little flux, tin your wire and the via, then solder. Be sure to have a shiny solder joint and you should be good to go.

    If all that is good, try flashing the chip. Maybe it has a bad/corrupt flash. Put in your firmware disk and press power 3 times, load your firmware disk and try again.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, thanks for that info. Matrix logo only shows after a power off reset. if I just press the power button (front right) then it doesn't show up!!??
    I thinking it might be a bad firmware flash, so thought I might re flash to 1.93. Can you run me through on how to do that, and also, where to get the firmware upgrade (or down grade in this case)

    Thanks again
     
  4. Stabby

    Stabby Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    PM me and I can help you with find what you are looking for.
     
  5. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Update....also found out that it wont play original PS1 games, it thinks it's an audio CD.......does this help any?
     
  6. joad004

    joad004 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi NZ_Dino,

    I have just installed a Modbo 4.0 v.1.99 in a GH-040-52 ps2 slim and I have the exact same behaviour that you describ. I have resoldered B,G,H,I points but still no luck playing backups..

    Where you able to fix it?

    Thanks,
     
  7. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, I haven't been able to fix it. It's driving me nuts. even been on line with stabby for hours and hours, and he can't solve it either. I'm about ready to throw it in the bin. Good luck
     
  8. joad004

    joad004 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm, I am sorry to hear to you have not been able to fix it. I plan to measure up H,G,I,B,A,Y points againts the IC pin to verify that I have connection to the modchip. Have you been able to verify this?

    Cheers
     
  9. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can't be bothered. Going to try another brand of chip. But to be honest, I'm so F***ed off with it, I feel like throwing it in the bin!! Good luck.
     
  10. joad004

    joad004 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, I will join in the f***ed up modbo 4.0 crew since I now verified the solder points again but no luck. What I did realise though is that when I set the boot mode to DVDV I can successfully boot any PS1 backup, but no luck ps2 games. This chip seems to be a no-go with PS2 slim v14.
     
  11. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Update......problem solved.I got hold of a modbo 4 version 1.91, and installed it, and it works 100%. Also heard from another installer who had the same problem, he put in a version 1.88 and it also worked. So I can only assume that there are a batch of bad version 1.99 chips floating around. Funny thing is, the bad 1.99's work fine in a "fat" PS2, just not the slim one. I know it wasn't my wiring, as all I changed was the chip. Hope this helps. Cheers
     
  12. joad004

    joad004 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the update! I will try to find another version or go for another chip that has a similar pcb layout. I also found other installers having issue with v1.99. Thanks again for updating with your progress.
     
  13. Ps2Duo

    Ps2Duo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys, have any of you found a sollution for this problem so far? i have the same problem with the Modbo4 and the Modbo 750 on the GH-041-14 Board? Anyone?
     
  14. llib

    llib Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello im new to the whole forum thing I bought a modded ps2 slim with the matrix infinity in it and after a couple of days of playing it I cant play my back ups now but it will play dvds dvd back ups and original games any ideas
     
  15. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  16. NZ_Dino

    NZ_Dino Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Problem solved!!! It turns out that the version 1.99 needs a bit more voltage to run, than the 1.93 or earlier versions. So all you need to do is run the 3.3 volt power wire to a different source. There are a few alternate (voltage) sources for the slim line PS2. Just google it.......Good luck!!
     
  17. Frankro1

    Frankro1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    mano yo tengo una ps2 scph-75001 GH-040-52 y no consigo el diagrama alguno me podria ayudar? gracias
     

Share This Page