1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My camcorder won’t read any sd card I put into it

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by Drunkytron The Drunk, Feb 3, 2024.

1. Drunkytron The Drunk

Drunkytron The Drunk Member

Hi all. I come here from time to time to look at questions, but nobody ever has a question I can answer (it says I’m a newbie, but I’ve been on here for over a year now). Anyway, I bought an off brand 5K UHD camcorder that’s snake bit. I know, that’s on me. I have 3 Sandisk sd cards, a 32GB, 128GB, and a terabyte card (1TB). I know, I should have known better to even try with the 32GB. But that terabyte card certainly should’ve worked. Well, the camera won’t format a damn one of them, so I used my laptop. I left the quick format box checked, and chose the exFAT file system. After the camera failed to read a damn one of them, I went back to the good ol’ laptop with all 3 cards. This time I unchecked the quick format box, stayed with the exFAT file system, but still, the camera won’t read a damn one of them. So, back to the ol’ laptop. Unchecked the quick format, chose the NTFS file system, but still, I get error messages when I try to record with any of the 3 cards. Here in about a week, I will be taking the camera to an electronics repair shop when I’m on vacation. Just to find out if it’s even usable. In the meantime, I will be simply amazed if anyone can offer a solution to fix this problem. Thank you to anyone who takes the time to read this.

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

what does the camcorder docs say about sd capacity & make? what is the make & model # of the camcorder?

3. ddp

Drunkytron The Drunk says.
    " Hi ddp. I tried to respond to your reply on our original thread, but I kept getting an error that read something like your post is spam-like or it has inappropriate elements. The model number on my camcorder is HDV-255K