1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a bit of help with Matrix Infinity 1.99 mod chip

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by RetroHack, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. RetroHack

    RetroHack Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've just purchased and installed the Matrix Infinity v1.99 mod chip in my Playstation 2 (US Version 4, thick model). This particular machine is in excellent condition, with low hours (I bought it new), and plays all game (and DVD movies) fine.

    So, I installed the chip, and soldered all the required wires, following the provided diagrams at the seller's site

    My chip doesn't match the one in the picture in the diagram - mine is white. But, the wiring points all have the same letters. Also, oddly enough, the diagram doesn't show where to hook up the G or H wires,

    Anyway, after installing the chip and reassembling the PS2, I popped in an original PS2 DVD game, and it played it fine. I tried a backup PSX game CD, and that worked fine as well. But, when I put in a backup PS2 DVD, I get nothing, just a red screen instructing me to use a PSX or PS2 game.

    I also have read that the Matrix Infinity has a configuration utility - I have been unable to access this (holding down Triangle and Circle at poweron).

    So... any advice? I've been over my wiring carefully, and can't find any faults. And since it plays PSX games, at least something is working. It's not the drive, because I can still play all original games. I can also still play DVD's, as well as burned DVD movies (single and dual layer).

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok maybe lets start with how you burned the PS2 DVD backup, seeing your PS2 will play the Original DVD game fine.

    The Most common method most of use is imgburn - free program
    Use DVD-R burned at 4x speed. For your Version 4, I wouldn't burn it any faster.

    If you used a DVD+R, then you would need to set BOOKTYPE in imgburn to DVD-ROM, or it will not work.
     
  3. RetroHack

    RetroHack Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've tried a couple of things for burning the discs. For one, I'm using Linux, so I read in a disc using dd, creating an .iso image. Then, I burned the iso image to disc using growisofs. That didn't work. I also tried burning an .iso image created by someone else - this similarly did not work. I've tried both +R and -R media, and a couple of different brands too. I switched over to the Mac and tried using Toast to copy a game. I also used Disk Utility to bun the pre-made iso. None of the above worked.

    I'm still confused why I can't get any of the Matrix Infinity menus to appear. I've tried all the various hold-down-the-buttons commands, and nothing works.

     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  5. RetroHack

    RetroHack Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been burning my DVD's at 4x. I've also tried a couple of other brands of discs - still nothing.

    I went back and rechecked my wiring. I even found an install diagram for the Modbo that tells me where to connect the missing G and H points - so I connected them. Still nothing.

    I burned the firmware disc and booted it, it gave me a screen "press X to update firmware", I pressed X, and then it promptly hung. The Infinity Manager disc boots to the Playstation text, then hangs. It's like it can't find the chip. I've been over my wiring now four or more times, and I can't find any mistake.

    My mod chip clearly says "Matrix Infinity 1.99" on it, but it looks much different than the ones I keep seeing in pictures. This is what I have: here

    I just don't get it. I'm usually very good at this sort of thing. It's frustrating to have what is seemingly a very simply modification go so wrong.

    I've even contacted the seller, but so far have heard nothing back. Has anyone else dealt with these guys?
     
  6. xMastemah

    xMastemah Guest

    I looked at the diagram you were looking at. I can only assume the G and H points weren't meant to be soldered for your version, but again, you know what assuming means.

    I was going to buy through this seller (not the same chip, and I've been able to locate all the solder points on my board), let me know if they answer your question. I'm actually curious to find out what's wrong myself. Seems like you've been doing it right.
     
  7. zooom1834

    zooom1834 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  8. xMastemah

    xMastemah Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2010
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  10. RetroHack

    RetroHack Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm. Well, that wasn't helpful. I got a response from the guys I bought the chip from.

     
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  12. RetroHack

    RetroHack Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I resoldered everything I installed, rechecked with the diagram and a meter - it's in there right. Still doesn't work. Grr.

    This is really frustrating. Further compounded by the fact that I was intending to mod my gamecube, but the only place I could find that sells the Gamecube chip is the same place that sold me this PS2 chip...

    I've half a mind to just order a Modbo and swap out this thing.

    -Ian
     
  13. xMastemah

    xMastemah Guest

    I just ordered a Modbo - finding a good site was HARD (to get it for less than $20).

    Sorry that had to happen though, it sucks to have wasted that time and money. The market for PS2 modchip is narrowing and will soon become obsolete, so it's best to get it done now.

    If you want the site I ordered from to determine if you wanna order it from there, just shoot me a PM. :)
     

Share This Page