need a player that supports all dvd audio codec's

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by redux79, Sep 9, 2008.

1. redux79

redux79 Regular member

No matter where I look I can't seem to find the specific audio codec’s that different dvd players support. I am upgrading to a yamaha YHT-390 and I need a dvd player that outputs the following audio codec’s

(This is an excerpt from the product info page)

I'm assuming the dvd player needs to support the listed audio codec’s or is it simply the receiver that decodes the signal? This is my first time buying a separate player and receiver so any advice would be appreciated.

I've been looking for a few hours now and almost every detail's or specification page I find simply say's supports dolby and dts surround. I mostly watch backups so dvd +/- R support is a must, unfortunately I need upconversion through component and the cheapest oppo player available capable of that is way out of my price range. I’m hoping to find a player under $100.

2. JVC

JVC Active member

Only player I know of that will upconvert over component, is an Oppo (with a supported hack), and it will only do it with dvds with no copy protection. So, it would have to be with backups. I forget which model Oppo does it. Call them. They will tell you.

As far as the codecs, the receiver does that. The player sends the signal via "bitstream", and the receiver does the decoding. Almost any 7.1 receiver should do it. I say 7.1 instead of 5.1, because Dolby Pro Logic IIx takes a stereo signal and will matrix it to 7.1 surround. Neo:6 (6.1) is to DTS, what Pro Logic is to Dolby Digital. Dolby Digital EX and DTS ES is 6.1 discreet surround.

Keep your eyes open, and you may find a used Oppo for under $100.
    Good luck!

3. redux79

redux79 Regular member

Thanks for the response, this may be a stupid question but if the receiver decodes the audio codec’s then I can pick any player that supports dolby and dts? It doesn't have to support each individual codec?