1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old 360 HD question

Discussion in 'Xbox 360' started by Cinch, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. Cinch

    Cinch Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey guys,

    I really hope someone can help me with this or at least give me a ray of hope.

    Long story short.

    Last week I purchased a new 360 slim with the 250 gb HD.

    My old Xbox had the 120 gb HD and I used the transfer cable to move everything over to the new one. Took some time but I thought all was good. It moved over all my DLC, my gamer tag, etc. However, when I went to play Dragon Age 2 it said 'Start New game' and no option to continue. Tried Fallout New Vegas... same thing.

    Somehow in the transfer all and I mean all of my game saves disappeared. I plugged in the old HD via the transfer cable and there is no information on it at all. So I am at a loss of what to do.

    My thinking, and correct me if I'm wrong, is that the game saves are still on the HD because I haven't formatted it or done anything to it. So, kind of like recovering data from a computer HD. This should be possible right?

    If so can anyone help me do this? The steps I need etc. I really don't want to put all that time into those games again.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,174
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    After transfer the old hdd gets wiped or the data does it says so on the documentation,now this is really going to piss you off it can't place it back it only works from small hdd to larger (ok just re read your post the transfer failed).Only people i know that may have a way of recovery is the guys at elite mods they'll most probably see this anyway well wabashman is here often
     
  3. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    3 suggestions to try. if they do not work, then i highly doubt anything will.

    1: take the 120 out of the MS case its in and put it into your slim. they use the same HDs so it should work (this will require you to disassemble your 250's hard drive).

    2: put the 250 into the old MS hard drive caddy and see if for some reason it will read it there.

    3: use any of the xbox hard drive viewing applications for your PC and see if anything will show up via it. i know a few times i have had 'dead' hard drives and got them working by restoring them with the PC apps and was able to read/write files that way.
     
  4. Cinch

    Cinch Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is there a certain application that you would recommend? I'll be the first to admit this is a little out of my league so I have no idea what I am doing.

    I'd rather not take apart the HD if I don't have to.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  5. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  6. Cinch

    Cinch Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, I have the software and have the HD connected via the USB port and it's recognizing it just fine.

    When I click 'Open" it lists this:

    Partition 0
    Partition 2
    Partition 3

    There is nothing listed under partition 0

    Under Partition 2 there is:

    Index
    TDBX
    Compatability

    Under Partition 3

    Mindex
    Content
    Compatability
    Cache
    $TitleUpdate
    $SystemUpdate

    Where do I go from here?
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  7. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    partition 3 will be what you want, it is where your profile(s) are saved at. IF they are still there they usually start with a an 'e' but i would dump everything in there but the title update and system update folders.
     
  8. Cinch

    Cinch Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm going to make myself look completely stupid now, but that's okay.

    I'm not the most Tech savy person, so I am not following what you want me to do. Could you explain it like you would to a 10 year old? (and not the super smart 10 year old, the normal ones) lol

    I just want to make sure I don't screw this up.

    Thanks.
     
  9. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    open partition 3 in the application, the drag it to your desktop, it should extract it your PC then.
     
  10. Cinch

    Cinch Regular member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, I think I found the file you are talking about.

    Under Partition 3, there is a content folder and in that folder are (what I assume) 3 seperate profiles. Two older profiles and the one I really want the saves from. I'm pretty sure thats it as it has a ton of subfolders. The main folder is titled "E00001CCFA316AFC"

    Is that the only one I need to dump to my computer?

    And lastly, I dumped that one onto my computer, but all the sub folders appear to be empty.

    Am I completely screwed? I really hope you have some magic left to work for me. :)

    Thanks.
     
  11. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    that folder would be your profile folder. if its empty, you prob are screwed.
     

Share This Page