1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Options with an SCPH-90001 PS2...

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by SonicTH, Sep 1, 2008.

  1. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If I wanted to upgrade my PS2 to a 90001 PS2, what would I need to do to continue playing backup games?
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What are you using right now to play backups.

    Far as I know modchips etc work on this new series.
     
  3. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Right now I'm using mechanical mods (covering the disc and drive sensors) and Swap Magic. As far as I know, no one's devised a way to do this with an SCPH-900xx PS2.
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I would think that it would work ok, but not sure.

    I know the Swap Tool Pro V4 was designed for the SCPH-9000X series

    There is lots of sales going on for the new PS2, so maybe someone will post soon about it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  5. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, I know it's like...nearly been two years since I posted this but I've since re-ignited my interest in this series of PS2.

    Does anyone know how that "Tool A" is installed on an SCPH-90001 PS2? I can see these v4 Magic Tools are supposed to work on that model but I haven't found any instructions on how they're placed in the system.
     
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hey Sonic

    Since this I now have the 90001 myself.

    I used the tool A from Swap Tool Pro v4. It just sticks right in there.
    And for the disc brake if I need the lid open, I just use a wooden toothpick.

    But for just Swap Magic, Tool A is all that is needed.

    If your lucky enough to find a 90001 with Date Code 8c March 2007 and earlier, then you can install fmcb 1.8 to a memory card

    For me I have 8c June 24, 2007 and i have to use Swap Magic to play backups.

    I also use the Opn PS2 Loader V7 to play backups from either my PC or a USB drive
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62141

    With Swap Magic, you can run ELF files

    So for me I rename uLe 4.40i to SWAPMAGIC.ELF, then place this inside a folder named SWAPMAGIC on your USB drive.
    Have the USB drive in when you boot Swap Magic and it will automatically load this ELF file.

    With uLe, you can launch any application.
     
  7. SonicTH

    SonicTH Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is running games like that effective? No slowdown?
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Off the USB , there may be some games where the video is a bit choppy but gameplay is fine.
    There are also games that work just fine.
    There are some compatibilty lists, but not updated regularly yet as they OPL keeps changing

    I play off the network on my pc and have really had no issues. You would have to try it and see for yourself, and check out some of the compatibility lists so far.
     
  9. ElcidoVI

    ElcidoVI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the newer ps2 utilizes usb v2.0 which reads alot faster than the usb v1.0 on the older ps2's. also the 3rd sensor has been eliminated making it much easier not to have to use a flip top and void your warranty. i got mine last week at target and it's a 90001 0A bios v2.00, also not really sure but i did read from one source that this specific model can read FMCB again. i can't say from personal experience that it works, i'm still waiting on my swap magic to install it, but i'll provide an update if it does.
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The new PS2 does not utilize usb v2. All PS2 are v1.1 USB

    And yes BIOS v2.00 you can install fmcb 1.8 with no problems
     
  11. me1688

    me1688 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just bought a new PS2 system date code 0A too from gamestop. I do I check the bio version? I like to use Free McBoot too. I heard that the machine made after March 2008 will not work with Free McBoot, it is sad.
     
  12. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you can check the bios on the main menu screen by pressing Triangle on one of the menu sections.. i do not know which off the top of my head
     

Share This Page