1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

playing online with HDloader?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by jaysexxin, Aug 28, 2004.

  1. finty101

    finty101 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmmm, I will have to try this, Maybe someone hacked the Memory Card one to realise the NA was there?
     
  2. deltoid

    deltoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I dont know away around it but I'd like to find one. Whenever I try and get online with Burnout3 it just freezes on the connecting screen. I am using a PAL PS2 with the memcard exploit. I have the same results when I use the HDLoader CD. I bought the cd but it doesn't always load so I did the exploit as well.
     
  3. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    okay, i jsut did soem googling

    and from waht i can work out

    the reason that soem games DONT work with hdloader is due to the way that HDLOADER FORMATS the drive

    ANY GAME wiht DNAS checks will not let you connect online because when it boots the game it must do soem check THEN and recognise that a NON SONY hard drive is being used, and it therefore disables the network adapter

    so, if soemone has the OFFICIAL SONY HDD they could test this theory for me

    basically what you'd need to do is make an image of the online game that has DNAS checking

    PATCH the image wiht the patchign tool to make sure the image has a CORRECT DISC ID from the ORIGINAL GAME

    then, load that image into the ps2 hdd via the PC, using soemthign liek hd handiness,

    THEN.........huff.........put the hdd BACK into the ps2, load up hdloader, boot the game, and see if it lets you go online then

    another test woudl be to do all that

    except without laoding hd laoder

    if its an official drive, the gfame shopudl appear in the browser correct?

    so you could alspom try booting the patched game fromt here

    iw oudl be very interested to know if thios works on an offical sony drive

    if iot does then we jsut need to wait for someone to make a 3rd party drive recognisabel by the ps2 as an official drive

    i guess it must be SOEMTHIGN to do with the way it is formatted

    well, thats my research for the night

    bye for now

    -x-x-x-
     
  4. finty101

    finty101 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sony said they might start searching for the HDLoader files, and then banning.
     
  5. deltoid

    deltoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Seems pretty stupid if sony did that. HDLoader isn't actually breaking the law. Your entitled to back your games up to save damage to them.

    Plus the fact that Sony is going to release a HDD of there own. They just want to own the market which is why they are jerks.
     
  6. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    to be fair to sony

    this product wil alow alot of people to jsut rent games from blockbusters, install them on the hdd then take them back

    hence they woudl be basically buyign the complete game for a few quid

    i can definitely see why they would do this

    so, i dont think they're being jerks at all

    if enough people get a hold of the hd loader, they stand to lsoe ALOT of money, and if they have the ability to check for its use, they ahve every right to prevent people from going online wqith it

    i think banning may be a bit over the top, since alot of people wil also be using it legitimately to BACKUP their OWNED and PAID FOR games

    if they do start checking whenever you go online, i think they would be more likely to do a temporary ban, thus allowing legitimate users to carry on usng hteir actual cd's once they realise that they cant use hdlaoder ofr dnas online games

    -x-x-x-
     
  7. garym

    garym Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bah, so what if they ban you. There's a machine id changer utility out there that'll give you a new identity if you need it.
     
  8. deltoid

    deltoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I am meaning they are jerks if they ban someone who owns a legit copy of the game. Banning because someone has HDLoader isn't right. But maybe if the same gameID is online at the same time then a ban is inorder for that game.


    From my understanding that machine id changer isn't working yet. Its still being made.
     
  9. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well, look what i sjut found

    http://www.bullethax.richgannon.net/forum/portal.php?article=0

    is this the future of online backups for the ps2?

    basically, you plan online against other people, but the ps2 THINKS its jsut a LocalAreaNetwork game

    so im guessing it wouldnt do the DNAS check

    of course, you can only acess the games that are being hosted by the Xlink servers, you cant go online with all the ofically hosted games

    but i think this ahs real potential

    im still nto sure if it will work with hdlaoder, sicne alot of online games wont even "connect" with hdloader

    but i havent tested with a LAN game before

    i cant test this out preoperly until friday when i get my ethernet hub

    if this does work though, ill let everyone know, THEN we can start gettign a big backups online thing going

    woo

    -x-x-x-
     
  10. deltoid

    deltoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will try it out on tomorrow night (thursday) when I get home. Not going home tonight so can't try it.

    I will try it with Burnout3 as its the only DNS game I have.
     
  11. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    by the way

    now that i ahve seen this, i plan on connecting everythign slightly differently

    can someone confirm that this setup should work

    PC<--->HUB UPLINK PORT
    HUB DOWNLINK<--->DSL MODEM
    HUB DOWNLINK<--->PS2

    im not sure if this will work

    im HOPING that this setup will connect my computer to the modem as usual, then also connect my PS2 to the PC (i.e. my ps2 should connect directly to the pc, not directly to the modem)

    will i need any crossover cables for this to work?

    if not i dont know how im gonna gonnect my ps2 to the pc, haha

    my original idea of the hub (before i foudn out about the whole x-link thing) was this:-

    MODEM<--->HUB UPLINK
    HUB DOWNLINK<--->PC
    HUB DOWNLINK<--->PS2

    that way both the pc and ps2 are connected directly to the mdoem

    thus the xlink wouldnt work :(

    grrr

    well, im not terribly good with all this networking stuff, so if anyone knows more about it i would be very tha kful to know if EITHER of these would work, and if i would need ANY cropssover cables at all

    thnx

    -x-x-x-
     
  12. deltoid

    deltoid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When connecting to a hub you use Cat5 cable not the cross over. You only use crossover when you are not using a hub or switch.

    As to get it to send the connection through your pc. When you set up your network settings in your ps2 set the default gateway as the ip of your pc. That way it will send data ps2->hub->pc->hub->modem.

    That should do the trick for you.
     
  13. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well i tried it out and it worked fine but there were only about 3 or 4 users online for socom 2. my setup is as follows...

    Broadband cable modem
    ......|......
    ......|......
    ......|......
    ......|......
    ......|......
    microsoft router
    ..|...|...|..
    ..|...|...|..
    ..|...|...|..
    ..|...|...|..
    ..|...|...|..
    PC PC PS2

    the PS2 is in no way connected to a PC directly. only through the router.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2004
  14. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    really?

    so i dont even NEED to connect my ps2 to the pc DIRECTLY for this to work?

    in whcih case i shoukld go wiht my original setup, which is much the same as yours

    -x-x-x-
     
  15. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    by the way nelswick

    do you eman that the whole xlink thign worked

    or do you mean IT WORKED FROM THE PS2 HDD, and there was still NO PROBLEM WITH DNAS?

    -x-x-x-
     
  16. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the whole x link worked and there is no DNAS check. and yes your setup if it is like mine. i did not try hdloader/advance
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2004
  17. GlennT

    GlennT Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well, im looking forwards to trying this soon

    its a shame that so FEW games actually support LAN games though :(

    only a small fraction of net play ps2 games actually let you play across LAN, thus kai xlink only has support for abotu 7 games at the moment

    :(
     
  18. finty101

    finty101 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmmmm, I have to try this out. What 7 games are supported?
     

Share This Page