1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem loading japanese ps1 game on my fliptop ps2

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by 2dxjoe, May 11, 2004.

  1. 2dxjoe

    2dxjoe Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    HELP!

    Today I went to play an official japanese ps1 game on my v8 fliptop ps2. I used the CD disk, then swapped it with the game, it simply would not load! i tried it 4 times and whenever i press X, i can hear the disk spin, but it wont load the game. the bottom of the game cd is PERFECT, there's not a single scratch or piece of dust.

    I tried other ps2 import DVD and CD games and they loaded fine!
    I also tried to play one of my american ps1 games on the ps2 and it worked.

    whats the problem with my japanese ps1 game ?
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i guess your using swap magic to try and boot your import so here goes swap magic is designed to boot ps2 game backups and imports only it wont boot ps1 games to boot ps1 game backups/imports use either gameshark/action replay or the breaker pro disc hope this helps
     
  3. 2dxjoe

    2dxjoe Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oooh! alright, that makes sense!

    These breaker pro disks / game shark disks, would I go about the same process to boot up my import/backup ps1 games as i do with SMD's?

    thanks =)
     
  4. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    its a very simular process to use the breaker pro disc to boot your ps1 games same with action replay/gameshark but with the latter you have to use certain versions of the discs
     
  5. 2dxjoe

    2dxjoe Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so with the breaker pro, i insert the disk, then will it stop spinning, then i put in my import backup?
     
  6. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes i beleive you insert breaker pro disc press reset allow to boot then swap with backup/import then press x to load(breaker pro is made by the same people who make swapmagic)
     
  7. 2dxjoe

    2dxjoe Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright! Cool!
    Now, is there any specific version that I need that has to be capable with my v8 ps2? or can I just use any version of the breaker?

    Heres two OT questions.
    What is a CD loader? (as seen in your profile)
    and do CD-R disks really strain your ps2's laser over time?

    Thanks a lot for all your help!
     
  8. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok right there breaker pro there is an ntsc version and a pal version just make sure you get the correct version for your type of ps2(pal or ntsc)
    cd loader is an extra boot disc that is needed with swap magic to boot some problem games that have a double check check out swap magic fix for a list of them there's a link below
    cdr and dvdr discs all put a bit extra strain on your laser but the better quatity the media the less strain i have been using dvdr backups and cdr backups in my v4 and v7 ps2's for over 2 years with no ill effects so guess its not that bad
    hope this helps
     
  9. 2dxjoe

    2dxjoe Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, My ps2 is NTSC, ill order that breaker pro sometime this weekend.

    What media are you using?
    I was planning on getting a 25 spindle of fujifilm DVD+R's. Are those good, or do you suggest otherwise.

    Thanks again!
     
  10. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    the fuji discs are fine,i personaly use ritek dvd-r discs as some of my mates have older ps2's and they sometimes struggle reading +r media(when i take a backup round to there place for a game)but fuji ,verbitan,ritek are all good media to use
     

Share This Page