1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Memor32/Memento

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Bonzer, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K I hope im posting in the right spot.

    Well ive read a bunch of posts and i mean a bunch, and i still cant figure out what the hell to do. I have the memor32 and i dont know what firmware to use (i got a ps2 slim new one) and when i try updating the firmware it says its not connected and that i should check my usb cables.

    Also i dont think im using the right firmware or doing anything right, So plz tell me the simplist way to use memor32
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Did you download the drivers for your usb cable
    http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm

    Did you first format the memor32 in your PS2?

    Then you should use 1.2e if yours is a USA PS2

    If that works, you should then use the savegame manager to copy a BOOT folder to your memor32 and use ESR r9b to load backups.
    It uses the same type of patch for discs as memento.
    http://www.gamegen.com.br//index.php?showtopic=22417
     
  3. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes i did format my memor32, i had it working on my computer then i used SGM to get the firmware off cause it was the wrong one and now i cant use it.
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Oh ok. So did you do an ERASE then, and then you should have formated in PS2 again after that.
    What you need to do now is use the SGM and fill the card up with saves.
    Just download a bunch of gamefaqs if need be.
    Then put in your PS2, go to Browser to check them.

    Then go back to Savegame manager and erase it. Back to PS2 to format and try once more.
    That should overwrite any bad data.
    That has worked for others.
     
  5. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K i will try that right now and i was wondering if it would matter because all my games are in NTSC format and could you plz post links for like memento and stuff like thats plz and thx.
     
  6. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Also to add my ps2 is SCPH-77001
     
  7. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok i got firmware 1.1 of memento programed onto my memor32 but now i dont know if its working, is it suppose to pop up when i insert it into the slot of what am i suppose to do?
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok thats good you have firmware now programmed onto it.

    The 1.1 is ok but has no memento logo when you boot it up.
    I use the 1.2e on my memor32 and it works great on my V7 and V14 SCPH 75001

    You will only know if it works by starting up with a patched disk in the tray.
    With no disk in it will just go to PS2 Browser.

    A lot of games are not compatible with memento, so now most users have copied ESR direct r9b.elf to the memor32 using the savegame manager and copying a BOOT folder to the memor32.
    You could also copy uLaunch.elf and other elf files, that will load from the memor32 by pressing a button on your PS2 controller while booting up your PS2 with memor32 card in.


    Quick instructions :

    DEV mode is invoked by pressing R1/R2/L1/L2 pad buttons on boot for DEV1 mode
    or PAD DOWN + R1/R2/L1/L2 for DEV3 mode.
    If no buttons are pressed on the joypad, memento behaves as normal (direct booting of game disc if present or ps2 browser).

    ELF files are mapped as follows :

    R1 : /BOOT/BOOT.ELF
    R2 : /BOOT/BOOT2.ELF
    L1 : /BOOT/BOOT3.ELF
    L2 : /BOOT/BOOT4.ELF


    To install the ELF files :

    For DEV3 mode, simply make a folder called BOOT on your memory stick and copy the files there.

    For DEV1 mode, you need to browse to the folder where your savegames are stored in your PC (in a default installation of the Memor32 Save Game Manager this is usually C:\Program Files\Memor32\Ps2Saves\).

    Just make a new folder inside Ps2Saves and call it "BOOT".

    You can now copy any elf file in there (plus any additional needed files, like roms for emulators) and the Memor32 save game manager will see is as a new savegame that you can easily restore to the memory card.
    Remember to rename the elf files according to the table above and to close and restart the savegame manager when you add any files to the BOOT folder.


    Memor32 Official Forum


    Guides

    How to use Swap Magic on the memor32


    How to use codebreaker on memor32 using ESR elf to boot backups.

    How to use uLaunch.elf

    That should give you quite a bit of info.

    If you need more help, let me know.
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  10. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K thx for all the help. One last question i was wondering well i guess two last questions.

    Can i play like emulators, Snes, NES, Ect. on it and if so how.

    Also can i use normal dvd-r discs in my ps2 or do they have to be dualed layered?
     
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes you can run emulators from memor32,and have your roms on a usb flash drive.
    There are emulators here
    http://www.sksapps.com/index.php?page=emus.html
    Some tutorials links in this thread.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/704013#4284994
    I know there are more if do a search for emulators for PS2.

    The only time you need dual layered disks is if you burn a DVD9 game.
    Then use Verbatim DL DVD-R disks, other wise for all other games the DVD-R disks are fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2008
  12. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K thx for your help you dont know how much this means to me.

    I have one last question, i dont think the memento firmware 1.1 is working on my ps2 so i was wondering if you could send me the link to 1.1e cause i cant find it on their website
     
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  14. Bonzer

    Bonzer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    YESSS

    I changed my firmware and now its working

    thank you for the help.

    :)
     
  15. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Your welcome. Glad its working now.
     

Share This Page