1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 No Display Problem????

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by IamKing, Jul 7, 2006.

  1. Ziergds

    Ziergds Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How does this site works. It said i would get an e-mail confirmation and im still waiting for it.
     
  2. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Exactly confirm it in ur inbox, i doubt that you in person will be able to fix this maybe a pro yes but maybe its just time for a 7th gen or a new ps2 there only 176au dollars now
     
  3. Ziergds

    Ziergds Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You actually think so? Ha, well se about that. Anyways please post if youre of any help. Othewise don't post for useless coments,ect.. Thanks
     
  4. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    LOL, nah i dont really have nayting usefull for ps2 reapairs if it were pc on the otherhand i would be able to tell you exactly, the reason i rote y nt buy a new one is cause if mine breaks i get a new one like 2 weeks after cause reappring by a pro is too much n i have no idea how to fix it myself
     
  5. Ziergds

    Ziergds Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah i also am very familiar with Computers ^_^. However i might have to get a new Mainboard for the PS2 if something doesn't come up. It's the only efective solution i have in mind. But thanks anyway ^_^
     
  6. machinesm

    machinesm Guest

    Hey guys. Finally a place with people facing the same problem as me! I have a ps2 chunky SCHP-50001 (with the `3D' logo so that means a version 10)modded with a MagicV. I was playing `LA Rush' when the display just...vanished. After switching off the PS2 checking all the cabling and restarting it. I noticed that while the display was showing...everything else was working just fine, Lights came on, Game dvd spinned as usual, and joypad was responding to game interactions! (I popped in La Rush again and I remembered all the button presses to get to the actual game part, I also remembred that my car was parked with a wall behind so when I reversed..sure enough the controller shuddered upon impact!)

    Now for the requests part:
    1) I have a very strong suspicion that its my SCART unit and nothing else thats wrong (someone else in this thread mentioned it too) is there a way I can fix just that? (Manuals, documents, hell finger paintings..anything!)

    2) Are there any suggestions you have? Did any of you get this solved if so how/what did you do?

    3) Is this something that happens with the SCHP-5000x series only? (I noticed that ver 9/10 seem to be the ones suffering the most!)

    ** There is a very low chance of me getting this repaired from Sony itself. and the Repair store I went to is asking me for $120 to replace the whole board **
     
  7. masesaco

    masesaco Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If the price of repair is us$120, is better get a new one, as they cost a few more dollars.
    And about the scart connection, don´t think you need tutorials, because it´s too simple, and also they´re very cheap.
    Good luck!
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2006
  8. machinesm

    machinesm Guest

    Hey masesaco, just the person I was hoping would answer! (Since you were the only one who came to the same scart conclusion as I and the only person to have fixed this issue)
    I'm pretty sure that my scart cables are fine (I have both an RF and an A/V cable which I used for testing...) I think its the connector on the Ps2 itself that isn't working. (My apologies if I seem to be repeating myself...I just wanted to clarify that bit)
    Having said that, I'm not sure what my next step should be! I mean I can open up the Ps2, and I can do the odd soldering jobs without making too much of a mess...but how would I go about replacing or fixing the scart..er..unit/box/oh I dunno. So if you could tell exactly what you did in order to fix your ps2 I'd really be thankful! (what can I say...I'm a noob!)
     
  9. masesaco

    masesaco Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  10. machinesm

    machinesm Guest

    Alright I give up, masesaco, I AM a noob. The mylot link you gave just keeps giving me a bunch of `sponsored links' followed by `related suggestions' and then an option to `Start a discussion about ps2 repair guide on myLot!' If there was something that I needed to download (maybe?) from there, then i'm not seeing it! Just to update all I took the console to another repair shop and he came up with the same reason ("Your Main board is gone"). However he's asking $65 to replace the board. He offered to sell my ps2 chunky off (the lens, apprarently, he likes) and he recommneded I purchase a ps2 slim for $100 from him. (fyi the ps2-slim comes with a sumo9 modchip pre-installed) Is this a good recommendation? Please advise!
     
  11. masesaco

    masesaco Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The ps2 he wants to sell you is really cheap, as it has a mod chip already installed, however I don´t know that kind of chip, and don´t know if is good or not.
    I just know that the good ones like Matrix and DMS have a price between 30 and 50 euros (quite the same in us dollars).
    My oppinion is that if you trust those guys of the store you should buy it with no problems, as the price of repair is almost the same.
     
  12. wallia

    wallia Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem as you guys have (I have one of earliest PS2 model). There is no sound or video, I even switched the a/v cables and tried it on different T.V. but no luck. I just see a quick flick on T.V. when the PS2 starts. NO AUDIO OR VIDEO. :(

    The first time it happened, I simply restarted PS2 couple of times and everything worked fine. Unfortunately, that was the first and the last time it worked.

    Did you guys find a solution to this issue?
     
  13. masesaco

    masesaco Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    your ps2 has some fuse burnt (at least has high probability to be it).
    Does the reset light shows up?
     
  14. wallia

    wallia Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Everything works fine and normal except the audio/display issue. The reset light does show up.

    Thank you for the reply.
     
  15. sepherial

    sepherial Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem, but unlike many others, my blue and green reset lights are working. I can open and close my drive with the eject button. I am just simply not receiving video. I have checked my BA chip and fuses and they all seem to be working, could it be something else?
     
  16. wallia

    wallia Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wrong, we all have blue and green reset light working + we all can open and close our drive. Everything works fine for all of us except we get no audio or video.


    arrghhh Sony! Do you think they will replace my PS2? I have no warranty or anything.
     
  17. Bar10dr

    Bar10dr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    may want to try replacing the power button board, only about $20. mine was doing the same thing, thought it might have something to do with my mod chip acting up. but, when i took it apart my power button had fallen off the board. was able to figure out how to put it back together properly, and soldier it back on, and worked just fine. ordered another power switch board, though, cause my repair job made my button a little touchy.
     

Share This Page