1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 SCPH-79001 and mod chips

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Bestarter, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. Bestarter

    Bestarter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay so i bought the new slim ps2 scph-79001 from canada. the guy i went to get it modded from told me that he couldnt mod this model because it is "too new". i also know that this model is not sold in america (at least not new york) and i've heard rumours that its smaller than the 77001. all i need to know is that is it true that mod chips cant be installed on this model? will the magic keys II work with this model? is there ANYTHING that will work with this model?

    thnx in advanced.
     
  2. godowar

    godowar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I live in the US and I purchased a ps2 with the model # SCPH-79001a I am also wondering if this is v16? or what? I'm not sure....also I would like to know about if it can be modded or not....lemme know something!!
     
  3. Bestarter

    Bestarter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i kno for sure that its not version 16. version 16 is 77001.
     
  4. godowar

    godowar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well, regardless of what version it is....i need a mod chip or swap disc or something to play backups with. Any ideas? I live in the US...what is a good, reputable site to buy from?
     
  5. Bestarter

    Bestarter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  6. ghazya

    ghazya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok.. here is the deal.

    i know for sure that there is a mod chip for spch-790001.
    but i'd rather not buy a mod chip. swap magic seems better than mod chips. any how i heard that the new swap magic 3.8 plus coder works for the spch-77000*, and i checked the difference between spch-77000* and the spch-79000*. spch-79000* is 300g lighter then spch-77000* and thats all the diffrence no software or hardware changes so swap magic 3.8 plus coder should work with spch-79000*. i have a spch-790001 and i ordered swap magic 3.8 plus coder from modchip.com it will be here tommarrow so im sure swap magic 3.8 will work.

    salams...Ameer:]
     
  7. Bestarter

    Bestarter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you ameer bhai, but if you could tell us if it works that would be very appreciated.
     
  8. ghazya

    ghazya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    100% it works swap mahic 3.8 plus coder works 100% on spch-790001. it arrived yesterday and im playing mortal kombat armegdeon & god of war 2... works great 2. buy it from modchip.com they have over noght shipping good price!!!

    salams...Ameer:]
     
  9. arlanrd

    arlanrd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just got a new slim ps2 md:SCPH-79001 also from Iowa and I was wondering if you could help me get this straight the first time please. Ive been missing sleep reading forums for a few days now and I'm getting no were. I dont want to give up my warranty. I think this is what I need- please help.
    1:Get The MagicKeys II Set 3.8 includes the new Swap Magic 3.8 Coder Version! From modchip.com/ps2/magickeys38order.php
    2:Get a USB Hard Drve to put Back up games in.
    3:If so what other stuff do I need for this system (codes or programs-from were)?
    If this works Can I just play everthing from me harddrive and not have to open my console to switch dicks? that would be awesome. I was waiting for Vase to come out but that must be a hoaxs. Any help would would be the great.
     
  10. arlanrd

    arlanrd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Any body?
     
  11. godowar

    godowar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i just bought a new silver slim ps2 like 3 weeks ago...and was in the same boat as you...reading forums for days on end. I just said to hell w/ it and opened up my ps2 and used the tape and tissue method and bought a swap disk from the net and i now have like 4 backups that work...i'm still learning but at least i'm past the point of trying to figure out what method. My first attempt was to buy a modchip off line...i never got charge on my credit card but it was 'pending' i found out the site was garbage and a fraud. so go w/ a swap disc IMO.

    I too was skeptical about opening my ps2 and voiding the warrranty....so what...who gives a crap. Mine cost me 129 US dollars....and i got 20 bux knocked off for opening a new credit account. if i screw it up...its my bad and i go buy a new one...if i dont (which i didnt) then i have the braggin rights off telling people that i hang out w/ that i opened up my ps2 and "hacked" it....them being pc illiterate and me knowing my way around a pc = win. they're all like wow, how you do that?? i said "it took me weeks on end of studying and lots of trial and error but it was worth it" in reality...it took me 3 minutes...TOPS...to open it...tape down a switch....and then close it....case closed. If you still cant make a decision on what i've just stated...hell idk what for you to do.. I suppose you can try your HD method....i'm going to also...but not right now...right now i like making actual backup disks...anywyas...enough from me.
     
  12. arlanrd

    arlanrd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks godowar. What swap disc IMO did you buy and were from?
    Im still going nuts wondering what to do. I think my kids will destory my swap disc in a couple of months. I'm looking on buying from http://www.modchip.com/ps2/ the MagicKeys II Set 3.6 for "slim" PS Two or DMS4 E.Z.I. S.E. Pro

    These guy won't return my email. Im from the us. Thanks Speed D
     
  13. godowar

    godowar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    just get a swap disc..."IMO" was for 'in my opinion' amazon.com has em :) im in the us as well...i attempted to buy the dmsi chip you reffered to from one site and got no replies from email or any thing....there was a pending charge for 91.95 on my credit card account for about 2 weeks and then it disapeard, i got lucky. So...try out amazon!! and best of luck to you.... I'm enjoying mine...just still learning on making the backups, let me know how it works out for you
     
  14. arlanrd

    arlanrd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks godowar, I'll pm you with my web site that you just might help you with the games :)
     
  15. schnazz1

    schnazz1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi - so you have the silver 79001 and swap 3.8 coder + swap tool pro works fine for you?

     
  16. arlanrd

    arlanrd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry I just have the SCPH-79001 right now but Im just findly finding some new info for this model right now. It seems to me not many people have this model. It looks to me to go with a PS2 Modbo 4.0
    but I might have to buy five of them. I will send you the site if you have the same model. I dont want to switch disks if I dont have to all the time.
     
  17. arlanrd

    arlanrd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I guss you wasnt talking to me sorry again:)
     
  18. Mrwirez

    Mrwirez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Swap Magic 3.6 and the Magic Keys work fine with the SCPH-79001 US/NTSC. The hinge switch key was a little harder to install than when I first installed it on my old v12. The 79001 hinge has a small piece of sheet metal next to the hinge blocking the space needed to install the key. I took the tip of a knife and bent it up a little bit so the hinge key will fit. After a few minutes of playing around I finally got the key to press the switch.

    BTW... I bought the Ps2 SCHP 79001 as a back-up unit while waiting for my new laser block for my modded v12. Target had new PS2's on sale for $129 plus a 20% off coupon.... for about $100, I had to get it. My v12 has a modbo 760 chip, HDcombo hard drive case, HDloader, and a 200Gb drive. It is awesome but after tons of usage my laser finally died.

    HD combocase: http://www.hdcombo.com/cgi-bin/hdcombo/site.pl?page=images
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2007
  19. esteonek

    esteonek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so if i have a 79001. i can use the swap magic 3.6 and the magic keys. but what can i do to use an hdd with my 79001, what do i need to buy? PLEASE
     
  20. oscarin

    oscarin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The white playstation 2 790001 can be modded with the good ol' piece of straw and 2 pieces of toilet paper on the same spots where you guys put them in the black ps2
     

Share This Page