1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 slim restart light

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by jonb91101, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the light on the ps2 turns on as red and then i press it and the green light comes on and then it automatically switches back to red...dont know if a fuse is blown or something....its a frineds...already opened it and the warante is done and he got a new one so i am willing to open it and ect.....please help...
     
  2. meyer_m

    meyer_m Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Check all the fuses and make sure that all cable (namely the power reset button cable) are all in properly.
     
  3. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What slimline version is it? It is most probably a blown fuse, this thing has been bought up before, just check all the fuses on the motherboard, you should be able to get a diagram of the fuses from ps2nfo.com
    When you find the blown fuse, replace it with the rating given on the diagram.

    Read below if you dont know how to test fuses.
    You can test the fuses using a multimeter, put the meter on the diode setting, touch one end of the terminal with the positive(red) lead, and the other end of the fuse with the negative(black) lead, which way doesnt matter, because you are just checking to see if current flows through it, the display on the meter will probably read 1, when current isnt flowing, when it is, the reading will change.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2006
  4. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wow thanks a lot guys i really apreciate it a lot! ........i am goin to check the fuses ....and yes i have a multimeter so i know how to use it and i am not a newbie....so i thank you a great deal...and by the way the ps2 is slim scph-70012....dont know what that version is but i will check the fuses!......thanks again
     
  5. meyer_m

    meyer_m Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You have a version 12, if you plan to mod it be sure to get a laser fix.
     
  6. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea hey.......i looked at the fuse near the power outlet plug thing....and i tested it and it kept reading werid numbers so i tested the same fuse on a ps2 that i broke trying to put a dms4 in...and i figured i would just swap them out....i tried to take one out and it kinda broke so i figured i would just make a bridge over the fuse on the slim....and it did nothing...i didnt really feel like testing all of them so ....do you think that i might be able to get by with geting a new switch because it turns red then i push it and automatically it turns green and then turns right back to red...so i dont know what to do .... i also have the other ps2 i think its a v7 and it has a great cd drive and other stuff that i am willing to sell if someone is needing the parts other than the motherboard..i think i fried it....so give me a holler at jtbrand89@nc.rr.com and if someone could reply to this on here that would be great...i just kinda want a short-cut..thanks
     
  7. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey ...i found something out!.....i looked closely at the mother board and i found that at the top of the picture found on http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/fuses/v12_gh032_fuses.jpg

    at the top of the middle of that picture there is 2 little diodes and they look burned out...idk what to do...i made a pitcute on my computer and i would like to show u guys but i dont know how to import pictures....so please help
     
  8. meyer_m

    meyer_m Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what you need to do is host the picture online either in personal storage or at a place like imageshack.
    Then, you can either just post the link to take us to that picture or use a UBB tag to post it here, there's instructions on how to do that when you click reply.
     
  9. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i followed your derictions...thanks... here is the picture of what is blown out or what looks fried http://img182.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitledcr6.jpg
    http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?image=3700of5.jpg

    looked on the other side and i found what looks like a fuse but i am not sure
    http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img2199ud3.jpg

    if someone could please help from here...that would be awsome...i am willing to hear that there is no way to fix it because i got it for free but if there is some way then please help
     
  10. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    o i forgot to add...on the second pic...it looks as if the two first prongs to the left on the pulse chip(what ever that is) are fried as well...because if u look at the motherboard there are the things that are fried closer to the top and they follow back to that chip....so do u think i could maybe replace the chip and bridge the two little things close to the top?

    and does anybody know if there is a fuse layout of the top because i cant seem to find one....idk if there are fuses located on that side but since i am dealing with experts i would appreciate any help
     
  11. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes, the chip is fried, and those black things that are burnt are resistors. The also looks brown a little, so if thats fried too, then its either a new motherboard or a new ps2, the picture you showed with the fuse on the otherside is actually a capacitor, there are no fuses on the otherside that can be a problem.
    The damage to the motherboard is quite serious, so its beyond repair, unless if you could get another one of those chip, but even then, when one chip blows, you dont know the internal damage to the other chips, because the whole things run together, one of my ps2's blew up before, the motherboard got bridged with a screw, the burn marks were on the bridge side, but the chips on the otherside has actually popped. You will most probably have to get another ps2.
     
  12. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wow!.........thanks for the advice...well now i have a broken v5-7(idk) ps2 that has everything other than the motherboard and outside case for sale or up for a negotiation of some sort....and now i have slim ps2 that has also a fried motherboard and perfectly good working lens the model number of the large was scph-39001 and the slim is scph-70012.....thanks guys,please reply here or email me at jtbrand89@nc.rr.com if you are in need of any parts and we can work something out.......
    THANKS A LOT
    Jonathan
     
  13. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    against forum rules to post email links, remove it and just ask for a PM if anyone wants anything.
     
  14. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    o my bad! umm i dont know what pm is....umm i guess someone could like just close this topic or something...i am really sorry...i didnt know...thanks
     
  15. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    PM is private message, you see above someones reply, it says Link to this message Report an offensive post, next to it, there is a little head picture with an arrow, that is the private message button, press it, and you can send an individual a message.
     
  16. Pspness

    Pspness Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok. i tried to put in my chip myself.stupid thing to do. NOw my ps2 does the same thing as the first guy. I turn it ont, It goes green, then straight to red. Can anyonre help me figure out what to do? Please!!
     
  17. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Check all the fuses on your motherboard, you have a v7?
     
  18. Pspness

    Pspness Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a v12. HOw would i replace them if if have to get new ones?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2006
  19. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wow that is amasing.... another person with the same problem as me....check to make sure that when u were installing the chip that u didnt bridge anything with solder...check the cable that goes to the on/reset switch.......check all the solder points again and again...do you have the correct guage wire that is being used to ground the chip?...check for that....did it work before u put the chip in.. because it might have gotten struck by lighting because i am most likely sure that mine did and it was evident that it did because there were burn marks on the motherboard....so check for those things and maybe i can give u some more advice
     
  20. jonb91101

    jonb91101 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    here's a image of the fuses...
    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/fuses/v12_gh032_fuses.jpg
    if u didnt see in the previous posts.....they tell how to test them...and if u dont know u need a multi meter and u can get that at radio shak........and if all those things dont work i would recomend that u go and get some solder wick ( a wire type material that soaks up solder) and un solder the wires from the motherboard and try to get up and blobs of solder thats left behind with the solder wick.......other than that my brother...... i dont know how else to help u but if u have any questions just post them and i will try to help
     

Share This Page