1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 (Slim)

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by sokairyk, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. platpimp

    platpimp Guest

    hi, when i was installing the flip top case for the new pstwo slimline my reset button got messed up wen i opened it the button on the chip fell all apart and now i cant turn it on. the red light turns on but i cant get it to power up any suggestion or is there any sites to where i can buy that part
     
  2. RemyK313

    RemyK313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmmm, my fliptop is due to arrive on Monday. When I get it, I'll update. I don't know, after reading all these threads, and after having my PSTwo for only about two weeks, I don't know if I want to risk killing my PSTwo just so I can play a few games that I'm not willing to spend $40+ on.

    As for PS2 overheating, I've had mine two weeks, never had a single problem. Load times are normal, discs never skip, never get read errors (except when I had a bad copy of GTA3, but Gamestop gave me a working copy)
     
  3. sokairyk

    sokairyk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I guess that I should check out the Hard Drive solution.
    Every other option requires a small mod on your PSTwo for which at least one person had trouble with. And since I don't want to apply any mods on the PS2 I guess the Hard Drive is the best option.

    I read that the Hard Drive has to be connected to a Broadband port and the PSTwo has one on board. So you avoid the cost of buying one for the other versions.

    Also all the games that don't work with the installation through the PSTwo could work buy connecting the Hard Drive to a PC. And the games that are installed through the PC don't have to be original!!! You just use the program HDL Dumb.

    The only thing I don't know is if an unmoded PSTwo will boot a copy of the HD Loader or HD Advance. But I read that there is a way to boot through the Memory Card. If anyone has more information on that please post.
     
  4. sokairyk

    sokairyk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    F**k!!! I just saw how the Hard Drive is installed.
    I didn't know that it was internal!!!
    So PSTwo (Slim) can't have a Hard Drive....
    Does anyone know if the PSTwo (Slim) version is compatible with an external USB Hard Drive???
     
  5. Dix_Fix

    Dix_Fix Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah that sounds good to me but I'm not sure if they can have a USB harddrive. Surely if you can connect to your pc USB then you can use its hard drive. Anyone ?
     
  6. RemyK313

    RemyK313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey guys, I installed my fliptop, and it works just fine! Check out my thread here : http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/148012

    And ask questions about v12s and Swap Magic there (I'm trying to get all the v12 users into one thread)

    As for the HD solution : There's no USB HD solution just yet. Also, you can't install the Sony HDDs on the v12s (there's no port for it, so it's impossible).

    My take on this is that if we were finally able to get HDDs to work via USB, it probably wouldn't work so great. The ports on the PSTwo are USB 1.1 and are only supposed to be able to go to a max speed of 12MB/Sec. That might make for some VERY high load times and/or lots of skipping for games that would require continuous loading (any game with large levels)

    Anyways, please check out the thread above, as I have (to the best of my ability) tried to discuss my entire trip through the backup processes. Everywhere from choosing the right media, down to how to make backups (and burn them), and also how I installed my fliptop and got it to work with SM3.3
     
  7. sokairyk

    sokairyk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I finaly got PSTwo Slim for 169Euros.
    I also got a Swap Magic 3.3 with Magic Switch two days ago for 41.50Euros. And the memory card 8MB cost 28.50Euros. Pretty expencive but I think it worthed...

    After gettting my PSTwo out of the box I started trying to install the magic switch.

    BUT!!!! I didn't knew that there are different types of of plastic tools for the sensors out there...
    And it took me a while to find the right pics and install the tools a and b. C tool is the one that covers the sencor under the lid and the one that I couldn't install. Even if I did I had to leave open the lid to use Swap Magic.

    Well.... THESE TOOLS SUCK! Swap Magic is great but 12Euros for useless plastic tools ISN'T!!!

    Anyway after seeing some pics about the inside of the PSTwo (Slim) and spending 1.5 hours to spot the sencor
    I made a "tool" from a plastic card and managed to use Swap Magic with the lid closed.

    Under the hole, where the tool c goes, isn't any circuit placed, so you don't have to worry about destroying your console when trying to spot the sencor.

    So my advice is to get a Swap Magic DVD and make your own tools for the console...
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2005
  8. sneek

    sneek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1 sokairyk u got really ripped off i can get a slim v12 pstwo fot 130 cad lol

    2. y dont u get a modchip if it takes u 3 hours to install u little plastic dohickey

    3.u cant play dls with SM trust me it ruins ur ps2 i used to have a normal ps2 b4 SM 3.2 kilted it also i think u shoud put in a slim fix i think u dont have to have a modchip in to install 1 its lonly likt 10 cad
     
  9. I_Am_High

    I_Am_High Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is your hard drive solution....

    Start out by getting your hands on a normal ps2 with a network adapter, barrow a friends or something.

    Then follow this pretty much idiot proff tutorial to the mc exploit. Make sure to use your memory card, the one you intend on using in the slim ps2.
    http://ps2hd.com/forums/showthread.php?t=88

    Follow this tutorail but instead of using the hd loader/advance .elf, use this one for USB Advance (the cracked version of USB Extreme). Note: the download on this site is actually a .bin & .cue file. There is a tutorial on the site on how to get the .elf file from that.
    http://www.sksapps.com/index.php?page=hd.html

    You will also need the client software for USB Extreme. This gets installed on your pc, it is the program that will format your external hdd for use with your slim ps2.
    http://www.hdadvance.com/download/

    Once you complete the exploit you just take your mc from your friends normal ps2, put it back in your slim ps2, plug in your external usb hdd, boot it with your ps1 game, and enjoy.

    Simple enough? I haven't tried it yet, can't wait to do it to my friends slim probably this week. I see no reason why it shouldn't work. So please feel free to try and let me know if anyone has troubles.
     
  10. sneek

    sneek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [qoute]I_Am_High (Newbie) 2. April 2005 @ 22:50
    Here is your hard drive solution....

    Start out by getting your hands on a normal ps2 with a network adapter, barrow a friends or something.

    Then follow this pretty much idiot proff tutorial to the mc exploit. Make sure to use your memory card, the one you intend on using in the slim ps2.
    http://ps2hd.com/forums/showthread.php?t=88

    Follow this tutorail but instead of using the hd loader/advance .elf, use this one for USB Advance (the cracked version of USB Extreme). Note: the download on this site is actually a .bin & .cue file. There is a tutorial on the site on how to get the .elf file from that.
    http://www.sksapps.com/index.php?page=hd.html

    You will also need the client software for USB Extreme. This gets installed on your pc, it is the program that will format your external hdd for use with your slim ps2.
    http://www.hdadvance.com/download/

    Once you complete the exploit you just take your mc from your friends normal ps2, put it back in your slim ps2, plug in your external usb hdd, boot it with your ps1 game, and enjoy.

    Simple enough? I haven't tried it yet, can't wait to do it to my friends slim probably this week. I see no reason why it shouldn't work. So please feel free to try and let me know if anyone has troubles.
    [/qoute]
    wow ur a bigger noob then me
    1 udvance is illegal cuz its a ps2 warez. plus theres no point unless u have a mod chip or sm that can boot ur indpencdace exploit.
    2 mem card exploit dozent work on the slim check it out on ps2nfo the section on the v12 ps2
    3 mabe u should try it on ur own ps2 b4 u get ur friend to do it
     
  11. I_Am_High

    I_Am_High Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well apparently YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOUR TALKING ABOUT. You told me to go to PS2NFO if I don't believe you. Maybe you should go there yourself because they even show a picture of USB advance working in their forums, and then go on to say discussion of it is banned in their forums. PS2NFO does not want you using USB Advance, they want you buying USB Extreme.
     
  12. sneek

    sneek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes i do i know that u can't use the exploit on the v12 ps2 and yes i agree that it works but only off cd not off the mem card
     
  13. I_Am_High

    I_Am_High Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    And why dosen't it work off the mc? Are you trying to tell me they changed the whole way the ps2 boots up? If I have time tonite i'll make a mc with that on it, and try to boot it with my v7. I bet that it will either boot and tell me no hdd detected, or it will freeze on the splash screen. Really though, i'm still waiting for you to give me a detailed and explanitory reason why you can't boot anything off the mc with a v12.
     
  14. sneek

    sneek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yuppers positive well unless u have a chip that can boot off the mem card :p
    " Also,
    it is worth noting the infamous PS2 Independence Exploit (aka PS2
    "Memory Card" Exploit) will only work on a standard PS2 machine...
    unfortunately $ony squashed it on the new PSTwo console rendering
    it useless on them. Time will tell if a new Exploit gets discovered. ;)"
     
  15. Brian23

    Brian23 Guest

    Are you serious about the independance exploit not working on a slim PStwo? I have not heard anywhere else that it won't work on a slim PS2.
     
  16. sneek

    sneek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thats a qoute from a person that reviewed it lol
     
  17. Brian23

    Brian23 Guest

    Hopefully they didn't know what they were doing, cause I just bought a slim PStwo, a set of swap magic disks, and a USB hd with the intention of making a MC expliot and using USB Advance.
     
  18. sneek

    sneek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh ya Brian23 u can do it with sm 3.6 i think u just need a usb pen drive and ur external hard drive

    and I_Am_High it didnt work rite ???
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2005
  19. SirSmasho

    SirSmasho Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I bought a PSTwo from Target. They have an awsome return policy...luckily. The first two I had burned out. One had a dead laser. The other over heated and shut down even when the system wasn't on.

    I found out why it overheats when i opened up the system. The fan that's in there sucks in from the side and blows out the back. unfortunately, there are no air guides, so if you get even a minor blockage (ie dust or being to close to a wall) the heat rebounds back into the fan.

    The third one i got (traded in) seems to be doing ok. To make sure the thing works right, I did a burn in by replaying "The 5th Element" over and over for an entire night to see if it fried.

    Everything seems good now. I guess i got two in a row of that "2-3%" that crap out.

    In response to what that "blue glue" is on the console's screws: it's locktite thread locker.

    I'm looking into making a custom top from CNC machined aluminum with better air guides, but i'm having trouble finding a machine shop that'll do it reasonably.
     
  20. SirSmasho

    SirSmasho Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Also, if you have AR MAX or EVO, the media player boots autoexec.elf files for you. all you have to do is copy the .elf to your max drive or a thumbdrive and rename it to autoexec.elf and start up Max Media Player.
     

Share This Page