1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 v7, no power, new pow/eje cable, need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by jbadam01, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my ps2 v7 was working fine one minute, then the next no power, I replaced the power/eject cable because it was damaged, but putting new one on didn't help, the fuse looks good, there is a black spot on the glass part of fuse, it does have a dms4 chip installed, solderless, it did have power after it was installed, but my controller cable was messed up, so I replaced it, but still have no power, is there anything I can do, anyone please help!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE APPRECIATED
     
  2. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The fuse might've burnt out if the glass looks like its been burned a bit from the inside
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  3. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    .
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2006
  4. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    sorry for double posting
     
  5. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for teh reply , I will try that
     
  6. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, apparently the fuse is good or was good, I touched a regular tester to the fuse and it pop the fuse as soon as I touched it, so apparently it is getting power at least to the fuse
    so I still need help
     
  7. waleedwc

    waleedwc Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There are also fuses on the motherboard, SMF(Surface mount fuses).
    The link below has a diagram of where you can find the fuses, i think if you have no power the main one that you should test is the F1 fuse. Post back what you find out.
    http://leops2.free.fr/photo/fusible/v7_gh-019_fuses.jpg
     
  8. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, me again, I replaced the 12 v 3.15 amp fuse, still nothing, how do you test the main board fuse, I guess it is a 1oo, amp I guess, how do I go about testing it and any other possibilities,

    I have already spilled about $250 in this ps2, just can't wait to get it fixed, been without it for about 3 months

    please hellllllpppppp!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. waleedwc

    waleedwc Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You test the main board fuses the same way as you test the ordinary fuses, use the diagram i linked in the previous post to find them. The diagram also tells you how many amps they are, so if ones blown you can check the diagram and find out which one you need.
     
  10. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, so do you have to have a multimeter, I just have a old type tester that you hook clip to ground then when yoou touch something with power a light comes on, will that work, that is what blew the oother fuse
     
  11. waleedwc

    waleedwc Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No, dont use that, it will damage the components on the board, you will need a multimeter to test the fuses, put it on the diode setting and check for the fuses for continuity.
     
  12. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well you may have a fauly power lead.
    do you on a slim ps2?
    if you do you may not have got the power adapter rplaced because there was a serious problem with them last year (around in october) so if i was you i would phone sony up and ask about your ps2 (unless you have modified yoru ps2). if you do have the fauly power lead sony will replace it free of charge :)
     
  13. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hello, glitchzoo, i have a v7 fat ps2, don't know what faulty power wire you are talking about, and yes, my ps2 is modded with a dms4 chip, thanks for trying to help, hopefully I can get a multimeter tommorrow and test the main fuse, if it is bad, is it hard to replace?
     
  14. waleedwc

    waleedwc Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No, its not hard to replace, and the problem with the slimline AC adapters a year ago, was that they use to get very hot due to a bad quality component, they didnt cause any problems to the console, they only bought it up because some people complained that the adapter melted, and burnt some people.
     
  15. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what i saw a picture on the net of one up in flames lol. they got really hot but some of them got so hot it became a fire hazard so for health and safty reasons sony tried there best to replaced them all,

    @jbadam01,
    you might have a chance of replacing it if sony dont check to see if your ps2 is 'modified' but i dont think sony will check. bacically you hand your old ac adapter in and they give you a new one free of charge :)

    but i would test it first.
     
  16. waleedwc

    waleedwc Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    jbadam01 doesnt have a slimline ps2, he has a v7!!
    :p
     
  17. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh i thorght he had a slimline sorry :)
    in that case i dont know what to do try another figure of 8 cable with the ps2.
     
  18. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey, I finally got a multimeter, i checked the motherboard fuse that had ps7 beside it, I take it for v7, when I put the leads on each side in diode mode it read 1150 one way, then when I switched the red and black around it read 436, I guess according to the instructions if both resistences are either low or high, then it is bad, should i test all other fuses on the board, I tested the ps15 fuse and it read 0.00 both ways, ok, I tested the other fuses, they read 0.00 except the ps2 fuse and ps5 fuses, which look different than the other fuses, but they read as being good, is this all right, is there anything else to test, either on main board or on power board













































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































     
  19. jbadam01

    jbadam01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey, going back to my previous post, I also checked the tube like diodes on the powerboard, there are 4 in a row, then a few other small ones, I tested those on diode setting as well, the 4 main ones read around 550 one way, they wouldn't read anything the other way, the smaller ones read around 450, there was one that actually read around 250 on both sides, and that was doo6 on power board, it is a small diode
     
  20. waleedwc

    waleedwc Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, i think you should check all the fuses, and PM me your email and i will send you a repair guide with the details on what readings you should be getting when testing the ps2 diodes on the power board, if you dont already have one that is!
    :p
     

Share This Page