1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Riteks not perfect

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by mastersak, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. ellizit

    ellizit Guest

    The Ridata Ritek G04 DVD-R's are the one's that I'm using. They have worked great for me.
     
  2. mscrab

    mscrab Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    have you used many, and where do you get them?
     
  3. ellizit

    ellizit Guest

    I got these from http://www.shop4tech.com/user.htm?r=188&go=rsearch&mfrg=Ritek

    That's where I got the most recent batch from, and they have not given me any trouble. Overall (same type of disc, just from different sites), I have gotten close to 300 DVD-R's, and the only coasters I've gotten have been my fault.
     
  4. mscrab

    mscrab Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey, thanks for replying, i will change discs now.
    have you used the datasafe (ritek) before?
    oh, and whats a "coaster"????
     
  5. ellizit

    ellizit Guest

    I haven't used the Datasafe brand before. Many reviews that I've read about these have mentioned poor quality.

    A "coaster" is a disc that you burned and did not work out the way you wanted it to, therefore turning it into a coaster for the drink of your choice :)
     
  6. mscrab

    mscrab Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so are you in the uk?
    if yes you have the discs sent over, how long does it take? does it matter what pc you have to burn the discs on?
     
  7. ellizit

    ellizit Guest

    Sorry, I'm in the US, so I wouldn't know how long it takes to ship them over to the UK.
     
  8. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There's loads of UK online media stores

    dvd-and-media
    blankdiscshop
    dvdruk

    etc , etc
     
  9. flanker27

    flanker27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Two thumbs up for Ricoh!!

    300 burns... no coasters

    Avoid buying Princos, they are one of the worst media in the market! great risks and a waste of money!
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2004
  10. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I concur , had a report back from Ricoh +R media & all is well ... they behave admirably @ x4 (I would recommend these if in the market for +R)

    :)
     
  11. xbadboy2

    xbadboy2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have got new dvd+r on the website they say Ritek and when I got them they say Ridata same Red pack as Nephilim in the poast. the website said G04. Did I get what I paid for or what. Dose Ritek = Ridata. I just have no clue. Thanks
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The only stupid questions are the ones you don't ask. If you don't ask you will never know.[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2004
  12. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,085
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ritek makes Ridata so you're OK.
     
  13. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    RiDisc , RiData , Arita .... all are Ritek G04 dye blank media

    As Sophocles quite rightly said ' you're OK' :)
     
  14. xbadboy2

    xbadboy2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks I wish that the website I got them from would have that on there so you don't go crazy. Thanks again
     
  15. flanker27

    flanker27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello folks! hello nephilim!
    I am kind of frustrated in here!
    take a look and guys i need your advice on this!
    I purchased 100 pk Ritek dvd-r @ ebay for a good price
    the ID reads RITEKG04 i just burned the first two resulting in two beautiful coasters!
    what's happening folks?
    aren't ritek one of the best media in the market?
    is it possible though it reads ritekg04 it might be a fake ritek?
    the only good burns have had its with RICOHJPN-R01-02
    Memorex first 100 pk
    the second memorex i purchased was ID CMC MAG-F01-00 which is a junk media, all of them coasters!!!

    now, what's the best way to get more of those RICOHS?

    EXTERNAL LITE ON LDW-411S (FS0J)
    LG GSA-4081B(A101)
    WHY ARE THOSE RITEKS NO COMPATIBLE WITH BOTH BURNERS?
    WHAT'S GOING ON????

    THANKS A MILLION!!!!
     
  16. xbadboy2

    xbadboy2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    In my case it is me that makes the coasters not the dvd+r or the software. When I come to hear and look around you would think everyones software/computer/user are doing everything right and its not them messing or software messing up and making the coasters its the dvd+r they are using(ritek). Why is it that we Blame it on the media we are using and not much elese.
     
  17. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    flanker27 , the user [bold]grogey[/bold] had the same problem with that writer (if I remember correctly) and think she flash firmwared it to be a Lite-On 811(s?)...and the problems were gone [in relation to Ritek G04 media].

    Ask grogey about this & Im sure she will let you know all she knnows on this matter [as known to be a very helpful young lady] ! ;)
     
  18. flanker27

    flanker27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can any of you guys send me the link to flash my drive to 811s?

    Thanks!

    mine it's a 411s
     
  19. flanker27

    flanker27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i am wondering how can i flash my drive from 411s to 811s?
    aren't they two different systems?

    please advise...
     
  20. grogey

    grogey Guest

    Okey Dokey flanker27 here is the low-down.

    There are a couple of things you can do because the 411S is just downright allergic to RitekG04s as far as I'm concerned.

    First thing is to rollback your firmware to FSOF - it likes the Riteks better. If you still having trouble as I did - then trip over to this link where there is lotsa info and tools for use with the Liteons
    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=77a2d1d3177a3869ef389c5a5b310388&threadid=83441

    Now this link here http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_jump.cfm/80638/438558-105751 will tell you exactly what I did - took nearly two days of trial and error but the end has been fabulous and I've since burnt around 80 to 90 discs with 100% success rate. I still get a bit nervy and error read or KProbe scan every 4 or 5 discs but so far all has been excellent.

    If you have any hassles please feel free to Private Message me (you'll see the link at top of page) and I'll help you as best I can.

    The Mod you are after is the Zebra ModV4 and the links for download are on the first site link I've given you. Once I did the mod I then also used the auto bitsetting patcher and the speedhack to get fantastic results!!

    Good luck and keep in touch - perhaps we could shift any posts and queries to the second link I gave you where I posted all my relevant info and that way all the stuff would be together should anyone else need help in the future.
     

Share This Page