1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rookie Torrent User...How do I extract and play my game?

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by blumey, Dec 16, 2005.

1. blumey

blumey Member

Well, it's obvious I'm a rookie with not only bit torrent, but working with these sorts of files yada yada. There's no getting around that. Nonetheless, I downloaded a game for my PC with bitlord. The file finished and now I'm left with a couple of MDF files, a couple of MDS files, a BIN file and a CUE file. I downloaded dvd encrypter and obviously I have winrar. I just don't have an idea as to what the hell I'm doing. I just wanna play the game, man.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2006
  2. andmerr

andmerr Guest

heres all the relevant info you need to finish your project

BIN/CUE images are CD-Images that come in both a .bin and .cue file. The .cue file just stores information on the bin file for the burning software. This CD Image type is one of the most used today and is very reliable. Try the Afterdawn BIN/CUE FAQ here.

1) What is a .BIN? What is a .CUE? What is an .ISO

The .BIN / .CUE CD image format was made popular by the CDRWin software. Afterwards many programs have started supporting or partially supporting it, including: Nero, BlindWrite, CloneCD, FireBurner. The .CUE file contains the track layout information, while the .BIN file holds the actual data.

.ISO is also a CD image format, but is sometimes used for 'ISO9660 format' (standard, recognized by all applications) and sometimes for unique Easy CD ISO format.

2) I have download .BIN&.CUE/.ISO files - what to do with them?

You can burn them to a CD-R or a CD-RW with:

-Alcohol 120% - My favourite, excellent software, easy and yet very advanced (burns ISO, BIN/CUE, CCD, CDI, BWT files!):
    http://cd-rw.org/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/alcohol120.cfm