1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running USB Advance through Swap Magic on One Disk

Discussion in 'PS2' started by meyer_m, May 7, 2005.

1. meyer_m

meyer_m Regular member

Hi,
    I tried this process to achieve the above, credit goes to kimbom.

Hi all,

I am very new in this world, but I got the new PSTwo Slimline Modell SCPH 70004 working with an USB Harddisk together with SWAPMAGIC 3.6 and USB EXTREME and USB Advance. This all without opening the PSTwo Slimline so I still have my warranty.

You need the following:

- USB Case with a Harddisk (I am using a 40 Gb Hitachi)
    - SWAPMAGIC 3.6 disks (you have to buy these because the cd and dvd which you are getting are "stamped". This is for starting up the PSTwo.
    - The tool USB Extreme (You can get it from http://www.ps2nfo.com/usbfaq.html) More info on www.usbextreme.com
    - The tool USB Advance (I found no site for this, but I have got it from the newssites. You can found it at the moment in a.b.cd.image.playstation2. If your server has a good retention time it will still be here. Search on USBadvance cracked.rar. If it is gone send me a PM and I will repost it somewhere in the news sites.)

Steps to follow:

1. Format your Harddisk in NTFS.
    2. Start up USB extreme. Go to the tab Disk Format and reformat the Harddisk. Close the USB Extreme.
    3. Create a directory SWAPMAGIC on the Harddisk.
    4. Burn the USB Advance on a CD using Nero.
    5. Copy the files of the CD to the harddisk in the directory SWAPMAGIC. Rename the *.ELF file to SWAPMAGIC.ELF. This is to make sure that the system starts up and goes to the Harddisk.
    6. Now start the USB Extreme. Go to the games installer tab. Select the correct DVD/CD drive. Select the media type and your USB harddisk. Give the game a name and press start. It could take upto 30 minutes to read the game. When finished press OK.
    Close the USB Extreme programm.