1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow Bit Torrent downloads? Router configuration tips.

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by CamDog, Feb 27, 2004.

  1. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You could check your ip address at ipconfig/all (nowhere else) to see if it has changed. You would lose the internet if you made it static and if the DNS server (s) were the same as your Default Gateway but I don't think your router would have any affect on that, sounds like your ISP or it would happen again. And, it doesn't sound like they're blocking unless it's on the upload side. Are you using Protocol Encryption and also both DHT options on public sites? You could try enabling UPnP, temporarily, to see if that helps.
     
  2. redZoneOS

    redZoneOS Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Protocol encryption is on. I'm not sure what DHT is so I dunno... haha.
    I tried UPNP but no change, speeds are the same, maybe even a little slower. This is what ipconfig /all shows... not sure if you can help based on this...

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.136
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    does upload speed matter? There is a 'formula' for figuring out max global upload speed in another thread, and thats what I followed... I have it set to 38Kbps right now... Also does port number matter? I picked 45812 and used the website u suggested for my router...
     
  3. redZoneOS

    redZoneOS Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also, I was just reviewing the first post in this thread. camdog apparently set up port forwarding for multiple ports? I followed portforward.com exactly, and as far as I know the procedure was for opening up only one port? Am I confused, and sounding dumb? very likely but I'm confused. If I am supposed to open multiple ports for utorrent, how do I do that with my DLink DI 524? And is DHCP supposed to be enabled? dos prompt showed that mine is not...

    Thanks again!
     
  4. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You will find both DHT options at options>preferences>bittorrent. Your port is fine as far as I know, I use 34,450 so I know that one works. If you ever set a static ip address, your Default Gateway and DNS server being the same will cause you to lose you internet connection but only if you set it static. You will have to obtain the correct one (s) from within your router or your ISP. Your upload rate definitely has an effect on your download speed. Do a speedtest within utorrent or here: http://www.speedtest.net/ and use your upload speed at options>speed guide>connection type. Check your speed over several days at various times to get a good average and use the speed nearest yours at connection type.
     
  5. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You only need one port for utorrent. Some clients, like BitTornado, open separate windows for each download and use a port range. DHCP does not need to be enabled.
     
  6. redZoneOS

    redZoneOS Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    -- ok both DHT options are checked, protocol encryption is enabled
    (double checked)...

    -- I ran the speedtest, here are the results: download speed:
    5174Kb/s... upload speed: 378Kb/s... what should my utorrent
    settings be based on this?

    -- This is what my DLink router shows as my settings for WAN:
    IP Address
    216.80.86.73
    Subnet Mask
    255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway
    216.80.86.1
    DNS
    207.172.3.8 207.172.3.9

    -- These are the LAN settings (not sure if both are needed or not)
    IP Address
    192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask
    255.255.255.0
    DHCP Server
    Enabled
    -- Once again, these are my ipconfig /all settings:
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.136
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    This raises a few more questions though... I set my static IP through windows XP... on my router it is showing up as "dynamic"... does that matter? Also, on my router DHCP is enabled, on ipconfig /all it shows disabled...?? Then there is the gateway and dns server settings... under WAN for my router, the addresses are completely different, but I cant set those as my ip address for windows or internet doesnt work...?

    Thank you very much, hopefully I can get my torrents zooming so I can stop bothering you :)
     
  7. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    At options>speed guide>connection type, in the drop down box, select 384 k and "use these settings". DHCP is not enabled in ipconfig/all but is enabled within my router and I have never touched it and have no problems. As far as a static address, if you followed these instruction, should be fine, just make sure you use the address you see at ipconfig/all and not anywhere else like Port Forward (mine is shown incorrectly): http://portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm You will have a couple of LAN settings but only one is your internet (the guide explains it) and your router status page will show the proper DNS server (s), there may be one or two, one is sufficient. I may be wrong but I don't believe WAN has anything to do with anything
     
  8. bloodsuc

    bloodsuc Guest

    Please I cant find my:
    user name
    password

    to do this some body can help me to find him
    tanks
     
  9. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  10. bloodsuc

    bloodsuc Guest

    Tanks
    But this program the "PFConfig" need a registration.
    some b ody can help me
    thanks
     
  11. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ignore PFConfig and look below it.
     
  12. bloodsuc

    bloodsuc Guest

    What is that mean can u tell me how i do it ...
    thanks
     
  13. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Scroll down the page.
     
  14. redZoneOS

    redZoneOS Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i officially surrender. Thanks for all your support and input mistycat, but for some reason I just cant do it. I followed every guide, every recommendation you made, and checked/rechecked every configuration I could think of and I still cant get download speeds over 100kb/s from Utorrent. Thats 100Kb total, regardless of number of downloads... Anyway, I'm gonna tolerate this slow rate of speed while I finish getting what I need, after that i dunno... maybe switch back to bit lord, since I was getting well over 600Kb/s on that?

    anyway, thanks for ur help, and PS, frostwire is def better then limewire, Thanks again!
     
  15. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Don't know why it won't go but if BitLord does, can't argue there but it may not be recognized on private sites.
     
  16. aeromina

    aeromina Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi ,
    Could you please tell me you got the 150kb/s or 250kb/s when you subscribed to which amount of intenrnet connection ???

    I'm subscribing to 256kb/s with the ISP , do you think , after opeing all the ports from my Linksys configuration , do you think I'll download with BitLord (bit torrent) by how mush speed ????

    thanks 4 your help
     
  17. liamf91

    liamf91 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey, ive got a problem when i download torrent and the speeds i get on them.
    when i download using my web browser (opera) i get speeds of around 380-400kbps but when i download using utorrent im lucky to get 10kbs and that if the torrent starts. it has configured a port to forward on it and i have forwarded it and it gets the green tick. my speeds dont vary at different times of the day there always slow on torrents. is there anything i can do to speed it up?

    thanks.
     
  18. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    In utorrent at options>preferences>connection, use a port over 10.000 that isn't the default and disable UPnP if it isn't. At options>preferences>bittorrent, use Protocol Encryption: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/395674 enable both DHT options but only on public sites and set both Global maximum connections and connected peers to 250-350. At options>speed guide>connection type, after running a speed test, select the figure closest to your upload rate. You can run the test over several days at various times to get a good average. Try this but there are other factors that will affect your speed; seed to peer ratio, connections and amount completed, public versus private sites, etc. I see speeds that range from 10 kbps to 350+ kbps even on private sites but not 10 kbps continually. Check this link too to see if your ISP is on it: http://www.azureuswiki.com/index.php/Bad_ISPs
     
  19. Keshin

    Keshin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have 2 computer connected to a Linksys wireless router. One of them connects to torrents fine, and runs full speed. The other is limited for some reason.

    Using bittornado the downloads only ever stay yellow with a speed of normally 10kbps. Whereas on my other machine, it will run the same torrent at green with 200kbps+ DL speed.

    I've tried disabling all firewalls and opening ports in windows, and the Linksys settings, but it still stays the same. The signal strength of the router is "excellent" and the rest of the internet runs fine. I just cant see what the difference between the two PCs is. I don't run torrents at the same time, so its not like one is limiting the other.

    Can anyone please help me out? All this stuff is really confusing. Thanks!
     
  20. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Are you forwarding one ip address for both computers, is the computer that runs fine connected directly to the router while the other is connected wirelessly?
     

Share This Page