Sony DRX-500ULX and SONY DRU500AX

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by Guz, May 16, 2003.

1. Guz

Guz Guest

Are these two drives the same thing? Which is better? I've found the 500AX cheaper than the 500ULX on circuit city.com but its internal and I need external.

Sorry if these questions may seem obvious, I'm a newbie and have just gotten interested in this. The Sony 500ULX seems to be very praised on this site and other sites.

2. Ryu69

Ryu69 Member

the ULX is external

3. Guz

Guz Guest

Yes, the ULX is external...so I guess no other differences between the two. I've ordered the ULX today so we'll see how it goes

4. jpmxp

jpmxp Member

I'm at the same crossroads. I want botht the candy and the jar. A friend of mine has the internal unit and is quite happy. I think he bought it on the pretense that internals are faster and the only kink he ran into was not enough ram. My system has an 80 G hd, 1G of ram. I like the externals primarily because of it portability and have been using a BackPack CDR burner to salvage friends computer data from virus ravaged systems before formatting and reloading. Problem...cd's don't hold enough with disk images costing you about 1 disk.gig. My hope is that DVDXCOPY will work as well on the portable drive as it seems to do on the EIDE drive! jp,

5. jpmxp

jpmxp Member

Did the 1st burn using the enclosed DVD+RW. Burn was successful and plays back fine in the computer DVD drive. However, when plunked into the Sony attached to the TV, "we" get great video and no sound. Short of this is all part of the learning curve, it may/may not be time to experiment. I guess I can try a DVD-R or a DVD+R to see what it likes to eat and see what happens. Plus I'll have to scroung up the documentation or download same off the web and see what it has to say. Any suggestions or thoughts on the topic?

6. Guz

Guz Guest