streaming live television

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by icarly, Apr 4, 2010.

1. icarly

icarly Member

Hello guys.

I am just learning a little about streaming, and i have read people watching sky sports on there computers.
    Is this easy to do, and do you need any software.
    So where would i start to do this to see what its like....

2. Pegasis

Pegasis Regular member

You don't actually need a tv to watch and record tv stations on your pc, you can buy a tv tuner card for your pc, then all you need is a program to use the card, i.e gigapocket and the likes.

Most programes come with the capabilities of recording tv.

Streaming usually works in the opposite anyways i.e pc to tv.

Here is a card recomended by a few people i know, its the Hauppauge WinTV-PVR 150
    Used with an analog cable.

let me know if this was helpful and how you get on.

3. icarly

icarly Member

Hello pegasis...

Sorry if i have worded the post wrong.
    What i have read about, is that some people watch sky sports (ie.a football match on there computer's if they do not have sky sports on there tv.

This is even without a tv tuner card, is this called "streaming live tv" to your computer over the internet

Anyway all i wanted to know is How would i do this (ie. watch a football match from sky sports on my computer without a tv tuner card, my friend used to do this but has since moved, and he did not have a tuner card installed.

I can only think of he must have gone to some sky sports web-site to do this, i have tryed but got know where, or i went to the wrong site...

4. Pegasis

Pegasis Regular member

Maybe this site will help you out.

Sky on pc:

You can "register" for free and get quite a few channels too including: Sky sports 1 to 4, sky sports news, british euro sport 1 and 2, aspn and espn classic.

There may be completly free sites out there, if i come accross any i will post em for you. :)

Hope this helps. let me know.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  5. icarly