1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic For Dummies! (Slide Card) *UPDATE*

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by IcePeten, May 9, 2006.

  1. IcePeten

    IcePeten Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not really, but some DVD's may be slower and or may not work cause their like 1.00$ ones. I use Sony and never have problems.
     
  2. melefire

    melefire Guest

    I made a slide card with a credit card and i can move the pin but the drive will not come out and i don't want to force it.

    Please help
     
  3. amximo

    amximo Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i got the same magicswap disk tha you have 3.8 but my ps2 cant read the dvd disk. its came with 2 disk in the package ri?cd and dvd. it could cd but not dvd which mean i cant play backup dvd game? is it the disk problem or my ps2
     
  4. cjgarnick

    cjgarnick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used my slide card once and now i cant play any of my normal games, what made this happen? and can i fix it
     
  5. IcePeten

    IcePeten Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What happens when you insert a normal game?
     
  6. cjgarnick

    cjgarnick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when i insert a normal game it says disc error, when i insert a cd it works fine, anyway to fix it
     
  7. IcePeten

    IcePeten Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Maybe cleaning the laser. Maybe it has something on it.
     
  8. cjgarnick

    cjgarnick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alright thanks ill try it
     
  9. AbeVigoda

    AbeVigoda Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm deciding between SwapMagic and a fliptop cover for my PS2. I've read reports about the MagicSlide ruining motors in the long run, and of course, I'd like to avoid that. Do the fliptops really work that well though?
     
  10. IcePeten

    IcePeten Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah. The fliptop is A LOT better for the ps2.
     
  11. sdsunjay

    sdsunjay Guest

    how do u use swap magic 3.6 on a slim ps2?
     
  12. r1c3boy

    r1c3boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Great post Ice! One prob though. i am using swap magic v3.8 and i tried loading gt3:a-spec on it but when i load the backup disc at the "insert ps2 disc" screen, i slide the pin to the left and press but nothing happens. wuts the prob?????
    thx guys
    r1c3boy
     
  13. IcePeten

    IcePeten Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok. Here's a simple way of putting it. Put the swap magic in, let it boot. When it does, insert the Slider and slide it to the right, unlocking the tray, and pull it out towards you. Do not hit the button to eject the disk. Replace the swap magic with the disk and push it in slowly. Insert the slider where you first locked it, and slide it left relocking it.
     
  14. bryce537

    bryce537 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how much is a swap magic And how many games can it get u
     
  15. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I laff at above thread.

    Swap magic prices vary , as low as 24.99 to as high as 30 bucks in some places.

    How many games it can get you? Erm, it doesn't get you games, it lets you play your own backup games, originals owned by you of course.
     
  16. CuttaKill

    CuttaKill Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do Swap Magic V3.6 play both NTSC and PAL Games?
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2007
  17. cs2ian

    cs2ian Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    does anyone know if this will work for a japanese import and if it does will it do anything to the original disc. Please someone help me.
     
  18. IcePeten

    IcePeten Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep!

    @cs2ian: I don't know if you can play Jap imports, I don't see why not. But the only damage that could happen is if you mess up. :p
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2007
  19. palacefan

    palacefan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when i try to backup one of my games i click the button to read it but it says it is protected. wot can i do 2 read it?
     
  20. stk_006

    stk_006 Guest

    its strange as mine lets me read it
    i got windows vista but it shouldn't make a diffrence
     

Share This Page