1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TUTORIAL - HDD ON SLIM PSTWO _ USB EXTREME/ USB ADVANCE

Discussion in 'PS2' started by BenD188, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Maxly

    Maxly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi there i got new problem with my hdd(not sure)..i hope some 1 can help me..
    last night i try to play movies with my sms but the smsplayer didn't detect my usb hdd..it just happend last night..it works fine before when using sms..any other application still works fine (usbadvance,Ulauncelf,etc) except sms.. i've done formatting with difference file system & use difference version of smsplayer but still got nothing.. what really went wrong?? any sugesstion..??

    sorry 4 my bad english..
     
  2. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How fast does USBadvanced run? I've heard it is slow due to the USB slot being 1.1. I was wondering if it was worth getting it to work or not. Being able to put my games (21 of them) in a box in exchange for one HD sounds really good.

    I have a slim modded system. I found a place that sells fat systems (unmoded), and wondered if it would be a good idea to pick one up and have it modded with a HD. Just need to know what I'm working with.
     
  3. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The UsbAdvance works fine, its just that not all games are compatible with it.
    It will work on a USB drive for either a slim or FAT
    Basically a guide here, and will also explain how to change DNAS or IOPRP images on games to get them to work.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/348187#2100927

    Another link just for some help on changing images in games
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/613825

    Compatibility guide and USB utility
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/703870#4300040

    If your getting a FAT PS2, best to get a Network adaptor and IDE hdd, then use Winhiip 1.7.6 to transfer games.
    It has a way higher compatibility rate than usb drive.
    http://www.console-exploits.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9236
     
  4. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm hitting a problem, (And Google isn't helping... must be serious!)

    I made the USB Advanced CD, using the File Here.
    I formated my USB thumb drive using the included software.
    I used the transfer software and put a copy of Fatal Frame 2 (It was good on the compatibility list.) on the thumb drive.

    I think I set it all up right,

    SYSTEM.CNF
    Code:
    BOOT2 = cdrom0:\USBADVN.ELF;1
    VER = 1.00
    VMODE = NTSC
    DUMMY.BIN [F2A4518D] 5,242,881Kb
    USBADVN.ELF [7CE4DCCB] 483,140Kb

    First I insert the thumb drive. Then I put the USB advanced cd into the PS2 and turn it on. It hits the logo and then nothing but black screen. It's like it isn't booting past the logo.

    My Chip is the Matrix Infinity 1.93, the CD was burned at the lowest speed possible. Nothing has been done with the chip bios, so that could be the problem. I just don't feel comfortable doing anything to the settings with out instructions. Mind you, my chip came with no instructions and what I've found on the internet is vague at best. I'm also wondering if I have to burn the files to a DVD instead of a CD, but figured I should ask before scrapping a DVD.

    What am I doing wrong? (And I've heard about people putting USBadv on their memory cards so they don't even need the CD, how would I go about doing that?)

    I admit, this is my first time doing something like this on a PS2, so please don't use weird terms. Assume any acronym will go right over my head. I'll try to utilize all possible paths before asking for help. I never could stand it when people don't try first. I assume others are like that as well.
     
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok I thought I had heard about this problem before with Matrix infinity modchip, so I checked again and found the solution for you.

    you need to disable or turn off the "macrovision fix"

    Here is a thread discussing it.
    http://www.psx-scene.com/forums/usb...usb-advance-loading-problem-black-screen.html

    And here is a good tutorial for using your Matrix Infinity modchip and the Matrix Infinity software manager.

    http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=matrix/matrix_tut.html

    That should fix your problem
     
  6. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well that was retardily easy. Thanks, all this time I thought it was what I was doing. Seems the chip was a fault.

    I hope this helps other people reading this fourm. Oh, and after putting ule onto the ps2, use a jumpdrive to put any others on there. It's defiantly worth it. (Note to new guys)
     
  7. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've decided to get a fat system, a network adapter, plugin a 160gb hd, and ofcourse get it modded. I looked down the compatabilitys list Here and Here and noticed that Fatal Frame (I have all 3) wont work on HDadvanced. It will however, work on ToxicOS.

    Where do I get ToxicOS? I can't seem to find a download link anywhere.

    Also, what does it mean when it says "Mode 1" (See second site for a mouse over) do I have to set a mode in HDavanced
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
  9. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright, I have the system, network card, and HD. I wondered, is there a way to use my modded system to test out HDadvanced on my unmodded system (Which has a hd now), like an exploit? (I'm still getting it modded, but wanted to play with HDavanced before sending it off to Canada.)
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes you sure can test it out.

    Install fmcb 1.7 using your modded slim. Install the multi-version so it will work on your FAT PS2

    Now you can install by 2 methods.
    Burn uLe to disk and copy your fmcb INSTALL to a USB following the tutorial
    With Ulaunch.elf running you will browse using "FILEBROWSER" to mass/ and then you will see your USB drive contents.

    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/FMCB_1.7_install_guide.html

    Or you can make a CD and install with that method.
    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/CD_installing_1.7.html

    You can then use hdloader 0.8c to launch games off the hdd.

     
  11. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Worked like a charm. I have another question.

    I took my softmod card over to my friends house and to no supprize it worked. However cogswap/esr etc doesn't work on my back-ups. I wondered, is it possible to play back-ups with a soft mod?

    His system isn't modded like my (soon to be two) systems. Could that be the problem? His is a slim.
     
  12. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok too play backups using ESR.ELF you need to patch the ISO images with ESR disc patcher GUI v0.24a, then burn it.
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/freevast/58441-esr-public-beta.html

    Here is a post by me on how to use SM 3.8 ELF also to play backups with fmcb.
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/433993-post8.html

    If you need SM elf files, just check my profile, for My Folder downloads.

    Your friends Slim should work. FMCB 1.7 works on all PS2, except on some of the latest SCPH-9000x models.

    Did you put the DVD.ELF bin in the fmcb INJECT folder
    http://home.comcast.net/~jnabk3/1.7/inject.html
     
  13. genzo

    genzo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi i have been tying to work my hd in my ps2 slim SCPH-70011.i used usb extreme to format and load games in my hd .i used swapmagic 3.6 cd to boot my ps2 but when ever i boot the ps2 it hangs with the swapmagic screen .i loaded usb advance in my hd but still is it not loading the usbadvance i dont know y so can any one help me pls .i have been trying this a whole day.i have a wd 160GB portable hard drive.is this compatible to use in ps2 slim.
     
  14. genzo

    genzo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  15. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok please check the first 3 links I give in this post.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/5/250563#4374184

    Read through them and then let me know if you need more help.
     
  16. genzo

    genzo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi smokyrain thanks for your response.i need to know one thing i actually downloaded the swapmagic and burnt it into a cd will this works properly to boot the ps2 .and is dvd swapmagic need to boot the hd in ps2.


    thanks for helping.
     
  17. genzo

    genzo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i even copied the files from the usbadvance into the folder SWAPMAGIC created in my hd and remaned it as SWAPMAGIC.ELF boot when i boot my ps2 to it boot till the SWAPMAGIC screen and stops nothing happens.what shall i do help me pls


    thanks to all
     
  18. genzo

    genzo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  19. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Do you own a retail Swap Magic?
    How are you booting the downloaded Swap Magic?
     
  20. genzo

    genzo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no i dont have retail swapmagic i downloaded the swapmagic.iso and burnt it to a cd. and i boot my ps2 by using the cd .have i done any mistake in that.and yesterday i tried to boot my ps2 with free mc boot and i successfully installed freemcboot 1.7 in my memory card but when i boot the hdloader from my pendive it is showing an error that hdloader didnt detect any hard drive but i have pluged my hd into the usb of my ps2 can u help me what is the problem .for the past 2 to 3 day i am working on this stuff so pls help me.
     

Share This Page