1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TUTORIAL - HDD ON SLIM PSTWO _ USB EXTREME/ USB ADVANCE

Discussion in 'PS2' started by BenD188, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I have posted your answer here

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/16/337567#4393123

    In the future please keep your posts too one section, and await an answer.
    Don't post the same question all over.
    It keeps the forum cleaned up and if someone has an answer they will reply.

    thanks
     
  2. exstnce

    exstnce Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i need to get or make usbadnv without dvdcheck.pls pls pls can some1 help me?
     
  3. Kayot

    Kayot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I'm happy with the help given to me. Thank you smokyrain. With out your help and guidance I would never had gotten a HD to work. Now I play my games both fast and lag less. The only problem I'm having now is that every once and a while the sound in Fatal Frame 2 does this weird skip reloop, which I'm sure involves the compatibility selection. Other than that, AC3 loads incredibly fast. I played FF12 and it's almost seamless, though it seems the programmers put in a purpose time lag on zoning to make it appear to always take the same amount of time. Kind of annoying on their part.

    I've managed to load 16 games onto a 60GB. I figure I'll take the plunge and buy a 500GB and finally put all the .hack games (7 of them, all full dvd) and xenosaga onto it so I can put my binder in the attic. Still wish it could hold PSX games. I have a ton of them. Then again, I play them on my computer so I can save state.

    Speaking of save state, is there a program that can run with the PS2 games to give me save state. I doubt it, but I've been amazed before.

    Keep up the good work smokyrain. Don't be fazed by people with bad grammar and short hand spellings.
     
  4. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Glad you got things working Kayot.

    I don't know of any programs for PS2 "save state". I remember seeing a thread on it, but can't find it right now.
    If i find it I will let you know, so it can explain better.
     
  5. exstnce

    exstnce Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi
    i have schp-77004 slim ps2.its broken.and i remvoed lazer , parts that move lazer parts that turns dvd.because they make noise .now usbadvnc and a lot of applications arnt working(usbadvn logo comes while it becomes darker ps2 freezed).i did a few things i can .adn i found that in LAUNCHELF.CNF file
    # Note that I have changed the default for IOP reset, as this has been
    # long-term tested now, and proven superior to starting without it.
    # I have also changed the default for CDVD checking, as the old default
    # could cause lockup on some PS2 models if started with empty tray.
    # ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Init_CDVD_Check = 0
    Screen_Interlace = 1
    Init_Reset_IOP = 1
    Menu_Pages = 1
    GUI_Swap_Keys = 0
    i turned dvd chek on then i run boot.elf same dir with cnf file .it freezed like others.red light on dualschock turned off.and light of my usb stick turned off if it was on.it turned on if it was off.
    so ithink i need to get or make usbadvn without cdvd check.pls pls pls can some1 help me?
    (when i run usbadvn somehow,will it crash games that i dont have tray?)
    (note:nothing changed when i put parts back)
     
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    How are you booting usbadvance.elf?

    Do you have fmcb 1.7 installed?

    There is no disc check in usbadvance.elf
     
  7. elm_nsk

    elm_nsk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all.
    I have a fat PS2 non-chip. Fmcb 1.7 installed. When i start usbadvance (via uLauncher 3.60) the light on USB Enclouser HHD is turn off and program freeze. I try 4 type of HDD (SATA, IDE (IBM, MAXTOR, Seagate)) and still not work. Format in NTFS and FAT32. But!!! my USB memory stick is work in Usbadvance o_O. Whats wrong?

    p.s. sorry 4 bad english ;)
     
  8. exstnce

    exstnce Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i m booting usbadvn with elaundch elf or my ps2 or fmcb i m trying everything.here is a post from sksapps frum

    it seems that You need to have some of the laser parts to make it working.
    my laser is not moving, but it trays to read disc. it makes this "click click" on start and than stops. service told me, that my laser driver is broken, and some electrical coil get burned.
    when i open my tray i get same results as You, but when i close it, it works fine.
    maby there is some king of USBA wersion that can work without laser...
    dont know...
    im sorry :/
    darek.golab
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The light on your usb Enclosure needs to be on for it too work.
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you booting through uLaunch then turn disc control too off.
    You can also set "skip boot disc" in fmcb 1.7, or just assign your USBAdvance.elf to a shortcut key.
    Then just press the button while booting up your PS2 with fmcb and launch USBAdvance.
     
  11. elm_nsk

    elm_nsk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The light on your usb Enclosure needs to be on for it too work.[/quote]
    the enclosure is work. in ulauncher the usb hdd is visble as mass/ device. I make folder, deleter folder, copy files. All work. But in Usbadvance - " Insert a USB device" and freeze. And enclosure light off.
     
  12. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    the enclosure is work. in ulauncher the usb hdd is visble as mass/ device. I make folder, deleter folder, copy files. All work. But in Usbadvance - " Insert a USB device" and freeze. And enclosure light off.[/quote]

    Ok thats fine uLaunch recognizes your USB device.
    But for USBAdvance.elf to work you need a USB enclosure that is powered on already.
    I have an AC adaptor for mine, so it is powered on right away when connected to the PS2.
     
  13. exstnce

    exstnce Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it didnt work.i did it on fmcb 1.6 1.7 1.8.as i said before when i turn on cddvd check on LAUNCHELF.CNF then launch boot.elf in same dir .it didnt open.so i think i need to launch usbadvn without cdvd check or something like that.it worked before when my ps2 have a lazer.any help?
     
  14. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I really don't know or understand that as the laser has been broken in other PS2, and people get it too work.
    You should have the disc control turned to "off" in uLaunch.

    Is it a V12 you have. Just buy a new laser deck, they aren't too expensive.
    That will fix the problem.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2008
  15. elm_nsk

    elm_nsk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My enclosure using AC adapter to. But:
    Ps2 power on - enclosure power on.
    uLaunch running - enclosure work perfect.
    When i starting usbadvance, thats show me logo of program, then the screen "Insert a USB device" and usbadvance hungup. Enclosure light is turn off but! the HDD is work. Then i unplug enclosure the light is turn on. But ps2 is hungup. Only reset.
    I try 2 enclosure SATA and IDE. HDD Seagate 80GB, 160GB. Maxtor 60GB. IBM 40GB.
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    When you formatted to FAT32 did you use the USBExtreme Utility to format it?
     
  17. elm_nsk

    elm_nsk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    of course
    also i try Partition Magic
     
  18. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well that could be a problem then. You can't have partitions on the USB drive.
    You can have FOLDERS however if you wish to store other things on it.
     
  19. Gh0ce

    Gh0ce Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have an odd question which I cannot seem to find the answer to: I use the usbadvance tools to put games onto the usb hard drive and that works pretty good (fmvs are sometimes laggy, but it's all good). But I ran into an interesting problem: you can't move them from the hard drive to your computer. Is there a good method for moving the games from the usb hard drive back onto your computer in the form of an iso (or something similar)?
     
  20. yoonohoo

    yoonohoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Happy new year

    I've follow the tutorial very easily using the SM disc and renaming the ELF file.
    So when loading it goes up to the USB Advance screen but no games appeared on screen. It says no usb drive is connected...now that's odd because it used the SWAPMAGIC.ELF in the usb drive, during the boot, to launch the program.

    Any ideas what the problem is?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page