1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TUTORIAL: How To Open Ports and Forward them to your Router

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by tEChniiQue, Aug 19, 2005.

  1. bloedje

    bloedje Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do there's no help for me...?(page3)
     
  2. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    @Jcnasty
    If you don't have a static IP set up for your PC then that needs to be done first. Follow the link below; select your Operating System and follow the tutorial.
    Once you have a static IP setup do what's below.
    Follow the link below. Select the [bold]specific router[/bold] you are using, the client you are using [bold](BitComet)[/bold], and then follow through the tutorial.
    http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 1, 2005
  3. frankbib

    frankbib Guest

    I have done everything that was said here, but the speeds are slow and I still get a nat error.
     
  4. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    @frankbib & all other posters...
    Please give more info than I get low speeds.

    There can be several factors causing your issues...some can be helped, some can't. You will get a more efficient response from the members here if you just elaborate on you problems. The more we know, the better we can help.

    For example: Exact problem, error message (if any), software being used, router make/model, O/S, etc, etc, etc...
     
  5. Jcnasty

    Jcnasty Guest

    ok i do have a static ip my Computer static ip is 192.168.2.5
    also my router is not listed on portfoward.com
     
  6. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    @Jcnasty
    If your router is not listed then you will have to go to the company's website or look over documents that came with the router for exact directions to forward ports to that particular router. I would know those steps because I don't have that router. If the make is at least listed, maybe there is one similiar in visual of the settings of the same maker listed.
     
  7. Jcnasty

    Jcnasty Guest

  8. MNA

    MNA Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    When I type 192.168... in internet explorer it doesnt open.At the top of the page it says PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED
     
  9. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    @Jcnasty
    I clicked your link but I get this:
    @MNA
    What exactly are you trying to do...Are you trying to access your router? If you specifically typed "192.168..." in IE, you will most likely get an error. That's nothing. Usually a router is 192.168.1.1 or something like that.

    Please eloborate.
     
  10. beanboy07

    beanboy07 Guest

    Ive been using torrents for over 2 years with a standard cable modem and a router with out one single problem with speeds. I recently started with a new company for work doing commercial installs for broadband/HSI for a well known cable company. I have become lucky enough to have one of their commercial modems/routers given to me with 10mb service for lets say, test purposes. The brand of modem is an SMC I can forward ports 6881-6999. I use bit tornado for my app but still the status lights are still always yellow. No matter what torrent I try this on, no matter how heavily seeded it is and no mattter how many users I can connect to it still says im behind a router/firewall. Never in the past have I had this nor such slow speeds(max at one time was 40kb). I suppose I could open the DMZ but this would then make all my ports open which I dont want at all. If there is anyone that could give some helpful suggestions, all will be appreciated. EDIT: And yes windows firewall and router firewall are off and no software fires running either.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2005
  11. meowmix77

    meowmix77 Guest

    Well, i need massive help... I only have one connection coming to my computer... and apparently i need at least two connections to bridge it. My setup is like this....

    MODEM------Router----Xbox & Computer

    How can i bridge with this connection? or is there another way i have to do this?

    Oh, I used your FTP guide and i got my xbox with modded dashboard (unleash X) Great TUT =D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2005
  12. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    [bold]@beanboy07[/bold]
    I wouldn't advise using the default ports as you have been. Create your own range and preferrably one higher than the average rang of ports. When I was using my router and had to open and forward ports I used a range like 51500-61500. Yours does not have to be exactly like that but something in the ball park would be fine. So:
    *Forward a different range other than the one you are using.
    *Make sure that range is indicated in your Torrent Client's settings

    There is no need to disable your system's firewall. Leave it on and open the ports you just forwarded to your router and set in the client. Make sure it's both the TDP & UDP.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2005
  13. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    [bold]@meowmix77[/bold]
    Thank you...glad it was a success for you.

    Well, by the setup you have both your computer and xbox should be able to access the internet. Now by bridging (2 ways I know of) I'm guessing you're meaning for something like matchmaking...if so, I'm not sure.

    If you're referring to bridging in a way so that you can do more than FTP but access your shared drives on your PC via your XBOX...You could easily create a network with the Windows Network Setup Wizard...restart your PC and XBOX then access the shared folders via XBOX (Xbox Media Center Center's) SMB Channel.

    Could you clarify exaclty? If if bridging for matchmaking, you may want to try another thread...
    ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2005
  14. beev1138

    beev1138 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    why can i not upload?? i can download fine, getting speeds between 100 and 200+ but i cannot upload no matter what, always firewalled. im using BEFW11S4 router, cable modem, windows ME, bit tornado, closed out all my virus programs and zone alarm, tried many different sites and options of configuring my router and nothing. red light wont budge.
    any help is appreciated.

    amish_rake_fight@hotmail.com
     
  15. 237

    237 Guest

    Uh? Sorry total novice here at this i need a breakdown on how to do this in easy steps as i am not familiar with "Ports"? where do i find these ports? I am using a Belkin router unfortunately my downloads have stopped completely and although they were rather slow i put up with the slow speeds and still got the items i wanted but i would like to make my download speeds faster so could you help me and tell me how i configure this damn router in easy steps? Or any one help me in finding out why i am not able to download anything now.
    Thank You
     
  16. Lethal_B

    Lethal_B Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    [bold]beev1138[/bold]~

    Please don't post emails here, it is against forum rules (link in my sig)

    By the way, what a tutorial you have made here, good job techniique.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2005
  17. abas

    abas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so my router is D-LINK 192.168.1.1
    but i find setting it up a problem ..
    in the port forwording page there is a table containing titles of some applications categorized into (GAMES,VPN,AUDIO-VIDEO,APPs,SEVERS,USER)and each has a list of "avaliable rules" that i am supposed to add to another blank table titled "applied rules"..
    now i dont know what should i do to forword my ports,i brosed all the choices but i didnt find any thing that could b related to torrents,download or any of these..

    wish U can help.
    & any way thanx 4 the useful information u provide.
    byeeeeeeee......
     
  18. thebigboi

    thebigboi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've never been able to find a tutorial for my router. It's an MSI wireless router, model number: RG54G3

    The only tutorials available for MSI routers are for the G2 and the GS. If anybody could locate one for me, I would appreciate it.

    P.S. The program I'm trying to run is Bitlord 1.1 and my random port chosen is 16699
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2006
  19. campo411

    campo411 Guest

    hi, i have a linksys wrt54gs router, and if you are familiar with steam and counter strike, ever since i got this router i wasnt able to start steam up. It would go to the updating screen, go to 100% and then it would just close. My brother came home for christmas from college, he brought his computer, and it didnt work here, he just went back, and now counterstrike is working again. it must be my router, how can i fix this.
     
  20. juventus

    juventus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got some major problems with downloading, my speeds sometimes reach 20kb/s but then it drops down and most of the time stays at 4kb/s or 1kb/s. I tried numermous guides, but i don't think i am doing it right, could someone point me in the right direction, i am running the following software, I did try doing the port forwarding tutorial, but I think I messed it up because now my downloads don't even go past 4kb/s please need some major help if possible:

    Windows XP Home Edition SP2
    BitComet 0.59
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite
    Modem: Sagem Fast 800
    ISP Provider: Tiscali

    I don't have a router as its a just a standard broadband connection
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2006

Share This Page