1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to connect to WinMX

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by Pheonix84, Sep 25, 2002.

  1. Pheonix84

    Pheonix84 Guest

    I have tried for several weeks now to try to connect to WinMX 3.3. Though it always is trying to seek connections! Arggggg...I have even tried downloading it twice and still the same response! I havn't changed any of my settings either...I have DSL and still I click on primary connection and it doesn't budge! Please Help!
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Two questions.

    1. Do You Run A Firewall. A firwall will slow your searches and connection down to a crawl. Especially ZoneAlarm.

    2. Do you use Windows XP. If so, make sure that you have all administrator rights.

    hope i can help ya
     
  3. John375

    John375 Guest

    Read my Thread
    WinMX 3.3 with aTrojan ????

    Also, I use the recommended GatorMX to load the OpenNap servers as other software have some problems
     
  4. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried to read it, but with my short attention span I fell asleep about 6 paragraphs deep.. could I get the cliff notes please?

    ;-)
     
  5. John375

    John375 Guest

    WinMX issued an update version 3.3 on 6 Sept 2002....WinMX policy seems to be to autmatically block all older versions as soon as a newer version comes out....So if you have WInMX 2.6 (or 3.1 or 3.22) you most likely will not be able to connect.....Make sure you are using the latest WinMX
     
  6. John375

    John375 Guest

    I use DSL. Click Setting button. Below are my WinMX settings
    Outgoing TCP connections - TimeOut=25 --Don't use proxy server....
    Incoming TCP connections - Listen 6699....
    In/Out UDP Packets -- Send on port 6257....
    Host name resolution -- 30 sec -- Use Operating system....
    WinMX Peer Network -- Nort America -- BD=7Kbs-Out and 10.5Kns-IN -- Search=Idle -- Search Thread+80%....

    The rest should not be important to connect
     
  7. Kyle777

    Kyle777 Guest

    I have aol and i click download. every thing goes good. then it says connecting i then click primary connection and it says TCP and UDP univalible.

    How do i get the TCP and UDP and where could i get them
     
  8. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    As far as I know, AOL users are not really on the net, just in a massive network (well i guess that is the internet but theirs is limited!)! With AOL, you can't even use small tools like telnet so I would assume that you may not be able to use p2p cause of your connection.

    I am only assuming ofcoarse! I don't use AOL so I woudn't know much about it!!
     
  9. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    TCP may or may not sound familiar to you, considering that the entire internet is based on it.. TCP/IP or Transfer Control Protocol over Internet Protocol. TCP/IP is connection based, and therefore has error control and is reliable, basically packets arrive in sequence and complete, where as UDP is connectionless without error control, and packets may arrive out of sequence, or duplicated. in essence, UDP just sends the data not really caring if it makes it or not, but TCP/IP verifies every packet sent vs received. Both are part of the transport layer of the TCP/IP protocol stack. IP would be considered part of the network layer, along with ICMP and IGMP.. UDP is essentially IP with port numbers (flows). It gives the user access to IP-style datagrams. The network file system (NFS)is an example of a UDP-based protocol.

    This concludes today's lesson on the internet. Any questions?
     
  10. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh yea, in case my previous response didn't answer your question, you could not possibly be on the internet if you didn't already have TCP/IP.
     
  11. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ye it is impossible but AOL limit their users internet use so that could be the problem connecting to WinMX.
     
  12. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    is most likely the ports are not open.. I don't use or like AOL either, but you may want to see if you can adjust what ports you are using inside of WinMX. if nothing else, call AOL tech support and bug the hell out of the poor schmuck who answers the phone asking him if port 6699 or whatever it is using is open.. he will most likely have no f@^king clue what you are talking about, but its worth a shot.
     
  13. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Most isp workers are so stupid!! I rang my isp about 3 years ago pretending to be my dad and asked for his password!. I got it no problem, they didnt ask for anything at all. I hear AOL are like that aswell!
     

Share This Page