1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VLC not displaying h264 anymore.

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by keebles, Jul 15, 2022.

  1. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I use to be able to play any dvd/blu ray i had ripped to h264 using dvdfab(legit copy) in vlc. all of a sudden. it only plays audio. dvds play fine in the original format. I even tried using Nero reencode to convert a short movie as a test. same results. they play fine in windows movie and tv app(except no sound because of the dts track(unless I convert to ac3, then it plays audio). I have uninstalled vlc and reinstalled it many times, but cant get h264 to display anymore. this has been going on now for over a week. I haven't changed any settings on my computer in the last few months. i do keep dvdfab updated when ever a update is released.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,308
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    143
    when you uninstalled the vlc, did you remove all programs/files to do with vlc out of windows & run a registry cleaner?
     
  3. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    yes I removed everything that was part of vlc. I then ran ccleaner to clean up afterwards.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,308
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    143
    including the registry part of ccleaner? have you done a defrag before trying to re-install vlc?
     
  5. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,308
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    143
    have you tried a system restore to before this problem started?
     
  7. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    No, haven't made a backup in a while. Just started doing blu rays and DVDs again.
     
  8. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I don't mind running them in windows movie and tv app. I just prefer vlc since it can play dts. I guess I just have to reencode to ac3 audio format from now on.
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,308
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    143
    I said "system restore" not "backup". system restore is part of windows & allows windows to go back in time to before the problem started.
     
  10. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I will have to try it tomorrow since it's getting late
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,308
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    143
    I know as I'm going to bed now.
     
  12. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I don't know anything about the OS of a Playstation but you might try this app for your movies with dts audio, if you can install it-
    https://www.leawo.com/knowledge/play-video-with-free-video-player.html

    Also, unless you have an AVCHD-DVDs, I don't know why you're ripping DVD-Video discs to mpeg-4 (h264) when the video is only mpeg-2 and there's no DTS.
     
  13. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Doesn't work after system restore
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,308
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    143
    was there a windows update installed around the time you started having problems with vlc?
     
  15. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
  16. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I was playing spiderman no way home, then the next time vlc didn't work
     
  17. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I wonder if you would upload a file, which won't play correctly, to a website such as dropbox, share it, and get a link to it which you can post here? You could also ZIP it and post the .zip file here.
     
  18. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    They play correctly in windows built in movie player app. It also plays on a old western digital media player no problem. This is strange that it won't play in vlc properly. It only plays audio not the video track.
     
  19. wither 1

    wither 1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2019
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I asked because I wanted to try it in VLC. Care to give me one?
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2022
  20. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,285
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Install klite standard aka media player classic (mpc). If when playing a vid it looks weird due to oddball resolution or whatever, right click in player window to bring up adjustments or fine tuning options to better suit the vid for viewing pleasure
    https://www.codecguide.com/download_k-lite_codec_pack_standard.htm

    ps: future updates of mpc once installed it will give option of only upgrading the bits that have changed, aka quick upgrade. On original install deselect the option of offers as it will open a web page to klite after install. It doesn't take long to check what you require so check carefully as there's a number of option windows. Once set it won't have to be done again, tho once your familiar with mpc it's pretty quick to re-install with your preferred settings. I've never bothered to check to see f it has option to create a save settings file
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2022

Share This Page