Which LINUX to get?

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Mr_Del, May 19, 2005.

1. Mr_Del

Mr_Del Regular member

Being a computer tech I am starting to get more questions about Linux. I do not know this OS and feel it is time I learned it. Of the 1 time I am asked if I know MAC I had been asked 10 times about Linux. So I go and look it up only to find out there are many versions of it. The price is right.

So I am wanting to know which Linux to d/l and install. Can it be set up as a dual boot with XP? I guess I could install it on its own HD and just change boot order when I want to use it. With that said If a HD is formatted for Linux can I also put XP files on it? I am sure it will not take long to learn. Check out my system specs in sig to see if my Hardware will work with Linux. How much different from UNIX (I dont know this OS either) is Linux?

Thanks,
    -Del

I have made an attempt to post this earlier but either something went wrong on my end or Afterdawn went down. The problem Happened right when I clicked post then the dreaded file not found error. I made sure the first attempt did not take before making this post. So, if I overlooked it and this ended up being a double post then you know the reason.

2. DMW

DMW Regular member

Hi Del,
    I'm a complete Newb at Linux, so I may not be of any help here :)

Choosing a Linux Distro can be a tough choice. I have tried about 4 maybe 5 different ones. My favourites have been Mandrake and Suse. Now, I didn't like these over the others becasue they were functionally better, the reason I preferred them was my GFX Card.

I play quite a lot of games on my PC and thought I would take a bash at Linux, but rather than switching between XP and Linux, I was going to seriously try to make Linux my primary OS. I have an nVidia card and installing the drivers was a nightmare, but finally I got Suse (9.2) I think to work with it. I took it off because I needed my HDD space back :)