1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7, 64bit, Port not Open, Utorrent

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by frizzle33, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. frizzle33

    frizzle33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok so this is my problem, can't get my port open, have searched for about 2 hours, can't find anything directly related. My stats:

    Windows 7 - 64bit

    uTorrent 2.0

    NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address: ‎00-30-67-24-B8-34
    DHCP Enabled: Yes

    IPv4 Address: 192.168.0.xxx
    IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    IPv4 Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
    IPv4 DHCP Server: 192.168.0.1
    IPv4 DNS Server: 192.168.0.1

    NetBIOS over Tcpip Enabled: Yes

    using router:
    Dlink WBR-2310

    Went here for my IP addy:
    http://whatismyipaddress.com
    Static Ip addy:
    72.11.1xx.1xx

    Have AVG free, using Zone Alarm, tried turning it all off including Windows Firewall.

    Tried everything listed here:
    http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/WBR-2310/Utorrent.htm

    Updated my Router 1st, restarted comp and set the preferences for uTorrent, still nothing - Please help.
     
  2. mistycat

    mistycat Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'm suspecting your static address and that http://whatismyipaddress.com is showing your external address, does for me or is that a static from your ISP? Don't know about W7-64 but this guide worked fine for me for W7-32: http://portforward.com/networking/static-win7.htm Use the 192.168.0.xxx Command Prompt shows and you can use these for your DNS from OpenDNS seeing as yours matches your router (yours shoudn't be able to browse the web though if used): 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 Some modems have firewalls and need port forwarding as well (should show at Port Forward), use a port over 10,000 that isn't the default (I used 34450 so know it works) and make sure you're using the correct LAN connection at Network Connections and that everything is typed correctly. Any chance your ISP throttles, some here: http://wiki.vuze.com/w/Bad_ISPs
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
  3. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Your port forwarding problems won't be caused by your Windows 7 computer. All that will be caused/handled by your router and if you have cable internet your modem could be interferring as well. First off NetBIOs was used in computers with XP and older(think Windows 95/8) to facilitate File and Printer Sharing. It is does not have to be running unless you are sharing files or a printer over the network with any computers running Windows XP or lower.

    To make things easier your going to have to post a bit more info. Do you have Fiber, DSL, Cable, etc.? What firmware is your router. You said you have a nForce Network Controller do you also have installed nVidia's software for this called FirstPacket? Or whatever its called?

    And how do you even know the ports in question aren't open? Slow speeds doesn't necessarily mean non-open ports it could mean your internet traffic is being throttled (read:slowed) by your ISP. If your making changes to the router via any machine with WiFi this could cause the router to become unstable and your changes may not have even been applied.
     
  4. frizzle33

    frizzle33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok so I got my wife's laptop to work fine with utorrent, same router and everything.

    I have cable internet
    were do I find the firm ware? nm I found, firmware 2.0
    as for the nVidia's software its not in my installed progs list.

    And the reason I say my ports are closed is that I ran the port checker tool from portforward.com and it says so, and I can't get utorrent to work and the setup tool in utorrent also says its not open.
     
  5. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    To clarify I was saying that Port Forwarding is a settings that must be done on/to a router from a PC with a wired connection to the router. I'm a bit tied up with a class paper at the moment and helping with a volleyball convention. I'll try to reply tomorrow night with more detail on what to do.
     
  6. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I just thought. Try doing this before we mess with port-forwarding.

    Log into your router. Disable any Port-Forwarding option(s) you may have set/enabled. Find the option to Enable UPnP or Enable Universal Plug-n-Play and Enable it if it isn't already enabled. Reboot/Restart your router. Now, with uTorrent open click "Options" in the menu at the top of your screen. In the list that drops down click "Preferences" and then make sure the box saying "Enable UPnP port mapping" is checked. And just to be safe go ahead and restart your computer.

    If you run the portforwarding test in uTorrent now it should succeed/pass.

    I saw that the guide you followed had you not enabling UPnP which essentially is a automated way to portforward so I thought before we start trying to fix the problem we'd try this and see if it doesn't solve anything.
     
  7. frizzle33

    frizzle33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok so PeaInAPod what you suggestted worked, UpnP was the problem, ports are now open, but uTorrent still doesn't work, its like its not connecting, still getting errors.

    Error access denied.

    I think I saw something in the help file on uTorrents site so I guess when I have 5mins I'll go check it out.

    Thanks for the initial help, I was loss and nothing was working.
    Plus getting used to win7 and new comp...frustrating
     
  8. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No problem, if after you check the uTorrent site and find their fix for you error doesn't work come on back and I'll see if we can't figure it out.
     
  9. frizzle33

    frizzle33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nothing works, I still can't download, any ideas, the forum didn't help not 1 bit.
     
  10. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  11. frizzle33

    frizzle33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well PeaInAPod, it has worked, took me an eternity but I am very grateful for all your help. My problem is resolved, now if only I could keep under my carriers bandwidth allocation I might be doing good. 13gigs to go, till midnight 2night. lol THANKS
     
  12. PeaInAPod

    PeaInAPod Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lol, yeah I got the opposite situation. Unlimited Bandwidth (literally, non of this Comcast Unlimited=250Gb crap) but the speeds I'm able to get in my rural area top out at 3 down 1 up :p

    So on the one hand I have "full speed" unlimited downloads w/ no downloading caps. On the other hand "full speed" isn't very speedy.
     

Share This Page