1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

yo im really getting annoyed

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by kizza321, Jun 16, 2004.

  1. kizza321

    kizza321 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have DVD encrypter and AnyDVD, also i have Super DVD ripper, but when i go and copy a movie called "the last samurai" it works BUT the langauge is in german plus it wont play in power dvd.

    Is there any software that i can use to ripp a dvd in the correct way

    Please Help

    Thanx
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    get DVD Shrink. Rip with Shrink, create ISO file, burn with DVD Decrypter. Only rip with Decrypter if Shrink can break the encryption. Also do you happen to have Nero?? And hopefully you're not running fat32 :)
     
  3. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    oh yea... when you open shrink, before you click backup make sure you choose the right language :)
     
  4. kizza321

    kizza321 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i only want to ripp the dvds to my hard drive, not onto a dvd, the problem is is that the movie gets put into separate parts, like each giga byte of the movie.

    i only want them in one full movie file

    reply asap

    thanx again
     
  5. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Rip with Shrink and create an ISO file.. How big do you want the file. Usually creating an ISO with Shrink will be around 4.35GB.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Dell 8250, Pentium 4 2.80GHz
    1.5 GB RDRAM, 200GB HD
    TDK 840G, Sony DDU-1612 DVD-ROM
    XP Pro, ATI All-In-Wonder 9000 Pro

    Gateway 450, Pentium III 450MHz
    384 MB SDRAM, 160GB HD
    NEC 2100A, LiteOn LTD-163 DVD-ROM
    XP Home, 16MB nVidia RIVA TNT[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2004
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    This is because, your using DVD Decrypter to rip in file mode. So again use shrink

    1) Open Shrink, open disc
    2) Choose your language (cause you don't want german like you said)
    3) Click "backup!"
    4) Change target destination to "ISO Image File".
    5) Since you don't want to burn, make sure the box to Launch DVD Decrypter is [bold]unchecked[/bold]
    6) Click ok.
     
  7. kizza321

    kizza321 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have created and ISO file BUT when i open the file it goes straight to DVD encrypter.
    I unticked the box that says; "open DVD encrypter straight after shrinking" but the file goes straight to DVD encrypter.

    I also tried opening the different file with Power DVD but it says; "wrong format"

    Why is this is happening, it just cant be to hard to rip a DVD to the hard drive, WHAT IS GOING ON :(

    Reply ASAP

    Thankyou for all your help so far
     
  8. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It isn't that hard to rip... If you've got an ISO Image on your HD you've done it.

    I've never done it, but I've heard you can play ISO's with PowerDVD.

    We are all here on our free time. Most of us respond to alot of threads. So try to be not so demanding :)
     
  9. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Again, this is because your ripping in file mode. Which creates one video_ts folder(which has many files in it). Have you tried opening the folder with PowerDVD(Not individual files)?
     
  10. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What happens if you have FAT 32?
     
  11. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Nothing... You're just limited using FAT32. FAT32 has a 4GB limitation. So when doing dvd backups you can't use ISO's(unless you do alot of cutting and editing), you're pretty much left with using video_ts files all the time. Thats all.

    Oh... When using DVD Shrink, most use either DVD Decrypter or Nero to burn. For those who don't want to buy Nero, they use Decrypter. And DVD Decrypter will only burn ISO's.
     
  12. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,087
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    128
    kizza321

    Power DVD unless it is an older copy is capable of playing movies ripped in file mode. When you open Power DVD there is a buton at about 5 o'clock in proximity to the playback controls. Click the button and it will list your drives. Choose open DVD files on hard disk drive, navigate to your movie click on the folder and that should do it.
     
  13. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well just an update. I can't play ISO's using PowerDVD, I've got PowerDVD4.0
     
  14. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've never seen anything about PowerDVD opening ISOs either. I also use PowerDVD 4 and I don't know of any way to do this. It could require a newer version than that so don't take this as a statement of fact, just my experience with a slightly older version. If it is true I might actually upgrade since I like to work with ISOs as much as possible.
     
  15. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,087
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I have version 5 deluxe for surround sound and new features and I would try it but I don't have any ISO's. BTW guys if you have 4.0 you can upgrade to 5.0 Deluxe for $24.95.
     

Share This Page