1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying DVD videos

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by bullet21, Nov 26, 2004.

1. bullet21

bullet21 Member

I'm new to this so i need help with the basics. Is it possible to copy from on dvd straight to another without doing it on the fly, cos only my writer can actually read dvd's. my other cd drive can't. How do i go about burning a dvd movie then, or do i have to some how put it on mym hard drive first?

2. zippyd

zippyd Active member

I'll give you a bit of study material to read. The thread that I'm referring you to covers basically any beginner problem that you may encounter.

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/105641

Since you only have one dvd drive, you will have to take out your source movie from the drive and then insert your blank.

3. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi bullet21, welcome to aD,

Let's try to answer the question, "Why do I have to backup to my Hard Drive (HD) ?"

Think of it like you're making a Peanut butter and Jelly sandwich. Everything you need is in one place, the cupboard. All your DVD files are in one place, the original DVD.

You need a place to put all your ingredients, the Bread, Peanut butter and the Jelly - so that you can assemble them into a sandwich, you use the kitchen table. You need a place to put all the *IFO, *BUP and *VOB files you are taking from the original DVD, you need to assemble them into a VIDEO_TS folder OR you need to put them all together into an *ISO image, you need a place to work, you need the HD.