1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1366 x 768p

Discussion in 'HDTV discussion' started by Spiritism, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. Spiritism

    Spiritism Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have this TV http://www.hitachi.us/tv/browse/plasma/plasma/55hds69.shtml and it says that the resolution is 1366 x 768p. Can anyone tell me what that means and what I can do with it. The picture has been coming in great but I have no idea what I'm looking at. I know of 720p 1080i and 1080p but Ive never heard of this one. So can anyone help?
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That means that the highest your TV will display at is 768p. So basiclly it will be 720p for most things and your TV will be able to accept up to 1080i (not sure about 1080p), but it will downconvert them to 768p. This is if you have a high definition source, but standard definition will be in 480i. And if you have a progressive scan DVD player it will display in 480p.
  4. Spiritism

    Spiritism Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a Direct Tv HD box and it has four settings I believe. 480p,720p and 1080p. Im not currently at home so I dont remember what the 4th setting was.

    But the thing is, I paid top bucks for this TV, I cant understand why it cant do the full 1080p.

    When I plugged my 360 in and played Madeen 07 the graphics were amazing, but it would seem that I could do better. I dont plan on returning this TV but I can surely go out and buy another. Is there a TV you recommend for me that can go 1080p.
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2006
  5. HD_nut

    HD_nut Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The set is actually upconverting 1080i to a 768 progressive mode, but it is offically cross conversion to 768 or vice versa.
    All sets and ATSC tuners are disigned to accept a 1080p signal... if there was one. 1080p is part of the 18 ATSC digital formats, and all sets and tuners are made to accept all 18 formats. So if a 1080p signal goes to the directv box, it will be converted to 1080i or 720p.
    Before you make a choice on a 1080p set read through the 1080i vs 720p thread and see some of the points I made, I like the 768p sets better.

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/4/395872
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2006
  6. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for clarifying that on the 1080p. The reason I wasn't sure was because when I tried to get my 360 to output 1080p to my TV the screen went black.
  7. HD_nut

    HD_nut Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That's a great set. I wouldn't trade that for any set. Are you using HDMI for the x box??
  8. Spiritism

    Spiritism Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No I use the component for the 360, but as soon as I can find a PS3 somewhere I plan on using HDMI.

    And thanks guys, I plan on buying another TV for my brother and another for my sister. So I'm going to go surfing through the threads so I can find the best ones to get for them.
  9. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HDMI for the 360 would be nice however there isn't a cable for it and I don't think there ever will be because the 360 uses analog HD signals through component and VGA if used, but HDMI is digital so that would mean that the 360 would have to process all the data and convert it to digital. From what I've herd the 360 isn't powerful enough to do this.
  10. HD_nut

    HD_nut Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2006
  11. dblbogey7

    dblbogey7 Guest

    Wrong. Component can carry 1080p all day long.

    Example: The NeuNeo HVD2085 can pass upconverted 1080p thru component:

    http://www.audioholics.com/productreviews/avhardware/NeuNeo1080pDVD1.php

    Some component cable manufacturers are touting its 1080p capabilities:

    http://www.hdtvsupply.com/coca10te1.html
  12. HD_nut

    HD_nut Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Meant a real 1080p, not upconverted, but I get your point.
  13. dblbogey7

    dblbogey7 Guest

    Real or upconverted the fact remains that 1080p can be carried thru component.
  14. HD_nut

    HD_nut Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There is a difference between real & upconverted! So it's not real or upconverted. The point you are making is upconverted and the point I was making was a real 1080p.
    That is much as 1080p as a 480i DVD is 1080i upconverted.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2006
  15. dblbogey7

    dblbogey7 Guest

    I know there is a difference b/w real and upconverted but the fact remains that with the proper hardware ANY 1080p signal - either REAL or upconverted - can be carried thru component. So your original statement is still wrong.

    Example of a REAL 1080p signal thru component:

    1080p/60 game -> XBox360 w/ latest firmware/system software -> component connection -> Samsung HLS series 1080p HDTV (which has the ability to accept 1080p/60 signals thru component and HDMI)

    OR

    1080p/60 game -> PS3 -> component connection -> Samsung HLS series 1080p HDTV (which has the ability to accept 1080p/60 signals thru component and HDMI)
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2006
  16. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I might not be able to argue very well over some things but I will have to agree that 1080p can be carried through component. Normally the only drawback is HDCP. I know that was an issue with HD-DVD and Blu-Ray.
  17. HD_nut

    HD_nut Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well guess I learn something everyday.
    Thanks

Share This Page