1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8gb ram and 4gb ram help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by ukguy2k, Nov 8, 2017.

  1. ukguy2k

    ukguy2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I already have 8gb ddr3 ram installed in my zoostorm tempest pc.
    Is it ok for me to add another 4gb ddr3 ram? Its the same speed and model ram just a different brand. I have a spare ram slot not used. One ram slot is being used with the 8gb, theres two slots for ram total.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the max ram amount you can have on that computer?
     
  3. ukguy2k

    ukguy2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes as I'm working on a customer's laptop that has a 2gb & 4gb ram sticks.
     
  5. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118

    Is this the motherboard in your PC? "A68HM-E33 V2 Motherboard"

    https://www.cdw.com/shop/products/M...s_kwcid=AL!4223!10!12485742762!74079667735113
     
  6. ukguy2k

    ukguy2k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, that Is the motherboard.
     
  7. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The it's a Micro ATX board with only two memory slots. That would mean if you have 8Gb in one slot then you're going to add 4Gb to another. While it will work if the CAS latency is the same it's usually not a good idea to mismatch different sized sticks of RAM because it could make them perform asymmetrically and cause a bottle neck. The idea situation would be if both modules were of the same size and speed.
     

Share This Page