1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A few questions to get started

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Chris112, Sep 15, 2004.

1. Chris112

Chris112 Member

Hi everyone I am new to the forum and had a few questions about dvd r/rw's. I use to be pretty big into computers in college but when I graduated I lost all my software connections and kind of faded away from it. But anyways I wanted to purchase a dvd burner but for a while they were changing alot and I wanted it to settle down and let prices drop. Now seems to be a good time to make that purchase and I am reading about the Dual layer burners. I found some on pricewatch with 16x burn speeds for around $80. I was wondering what I needed to start off with and what a good brand was. I was looking at some BenQ or something. What software would be good to burn home moives, make "backups" of purchased movies and even xbox games. Is there any freeware or trialware I can use since I am very tight on cash? I was wondering if there was a good run down of what to get, look for and where to download the needed software. Thank you for all the help and I look forward to helping out where I can. I do have alot of knowldege with computers but more in the hardware field since that is my career. thanks again

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Geez, thats a lot of questions packed tightly together! I have some opinions that might help ya though.

First consider the price of the dual layer media when deciding on a burner. $5.00 to $9.00 each was what they were going for the last time I checked.

However, the price difference between dual and single layer burner is not that great, so consider the dual layer BenQ. Personally I like Pioneer and Sony burners but there are lots out there and most work pretty well. Support and firmware availability is always something to consider.