1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add another hard drive for storage

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by budro, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm running WinXP Pro with a 1.15 ghtz processor, 515 mb of ram a 60 gb hard drive and a cd drive. i want to add another 30 gig drive to my compouter for storage, but when i turn my computer on, it doesn't recognize the drive. help please!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the drive a western digital? is it slave to the 60gig or on secondary ide cable by itself?
     
  3. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    um, i'm unsure of the drives make, i don't have it with me right now, it's at my dad's place. however, i do know that it is a secondary ide, not slave
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    if drive is by itself & the ide cable is not in reverse then it looks like that is a western digital drive so remove the jumper if jumpered as master, slave or cable select. other possibility is that the computer is a dell so jumper the drive as cable select.
     
  5. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    jumper? i'm not sure what that means
    i know my computer isn't a dell though, its a home made computer i got from my uncle
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
  7. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that clarifies things so much, thanks.
    if this moving the jumper doesn't work, what should i do?
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    won't know till you try it. also it is the computer that is not seeing the drive & not windows, correct?
     
  9. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I believe the computer is recognizing it, Windows is not
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
  11. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright, i think it's formatted and partitioned, but i'll run through the procedure again
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Don't forget, you can right click on the drive in disk manager and then go "change drive letter and paths" to force it to use another letter. Sometimes windows assigns drives letters that are already being used, so they don't show up.
     
  13. budro

    budro Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright, once i have access to the drive again, i'll try all that and get back to you
     

Share This Page