1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adobe Premiere Pro Setup Problem (DirectX DLL)

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by cmalex79, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. cmalex79

    cmalex79 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello, all. I'm new to this forum, but I've been having a helluva time getting Premiere Pro to load on my system. Everytime I try to load it, it gets to the DirectX 9 (which I already have on my computer), the setup stalls and quits b/c "Setup failed to load a required DLL." Has anyone else seen this? Does anyone know a way around it?
     
  2. jfh108

    jfh108 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Has anyone found a work-around?

    I'm having the same problem and I'm now exhausted. Adobe support offers little help. I tried installing in safe mode - same result. Since DirectX 9 cannot be uninstalled, I'm not sure what else to try.

    The previous version (6.5) had the same problem. The fix was to break the setup so that it could not start the external install. The new version (7.0) seems to rollback the entire setup if a sub-install is broken.
     
  3. Robuchie

    Robuchie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the EXACT same problem, and I already have DirectX 9.0 on my computer. It is really frusterating, and I don't know what to do about it, so if anybody has any suggestions on how you can bypass this it would be greatly appreciated. Until then, I give up.
     
  4. jfpolo

    jfpolo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Be sure you have the folder directX in your installation program, doesn't matter if you have it in your machine or not, if you dont have it, download the tryout from adobe and copy it to your installation program, good luck.
     
  5. ElMono

    ElMono Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all, have been banging my head against the wall with this problem also (I'm new to the forum - found this thread via Google). jfpolo - not quite sure what you mean by having 'the folder directX in your installation program'. Could you post a little more detail?
     
  6. bodger

    bodger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You'll need to use the Direct-X version that came with the Adobe Premiere Pro 7 'Trial' version.

    If you have a Temp folder containing Direct-X ver 9 that you downloaded from Microsoft, delete it, or rename the folder if you're not sure.

    Download and unzip the 'Trial' version then copy that version of the Direct-X ver 9 to the Temp folder where the other one was.

    Good Luck
     
  7. ElMono

    ElMono Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all - have tried that and yep, that's solved the problem. Thanks for the help bodger & jfpolo - most appreciated!
     
  8. mrlehy

    mrlehy Guest

    anyone have the link where i can download that trial version of directx 9?
     
  9. bodger

    bodger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  10. chsurfer

    chsurfer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Why does the program remain as a 30 day tryout even after i've done all the steps above?
     
  11. altipampa

    altipampa Guest

    hello gays I HAVE TROUBLES WITH ADOBE PREMIERE
    WHEN I IMPORT VIDEO CLIPS TO THE PROGRAM AND I ASK DISPLAY IN THE SOURCE MONITOR AND PRES PLAY NOTHING HAPPEN AND THE PROGRAM NO RESPONSE.

    PLEASE SOMEBODY HELP, WHAT´S GOING ON.

    THANK YOU.
     
  12. cmalex79

    cmalex79 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Maybe if that question was written in English by a sane human being rather than a rabid badger, I'd be more likely to respond intelligently.
     
  13. bodger

    bodger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I hadn't realised this forum was just for loud-mouthed bigots. The question was perfectly understandable - I don't know the answer - but it was obvious what the question was.

    It's clear that English is not altipampa's first language so cut him some slack you moron.
     
  14. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    As opposed to your last post, cmalex?

    This is an international forum so I'd suggest either losing your condescending attitude or keeping your pie-hole shut.
     
  15. cmalex79

    cmalex79 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Loud mouth bigot? Moron? Wow. At least I wasn't so personal and degrading in my comments. You guys must be the "tolerant" types I hear so much about in the news.
     
  16. Leane

    Leane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Where can I donwload "Adobe Premiere Pro 7 'Trial' version". I'm busy editing a project in ver 6.5 but have a huge sound problem which apparently can be fixed by using the "normalization" option in version 7.
     
  17. bodger

    bodger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  18. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Leane-
    don't know how big of a sound problem you have, but Premiere in general (6.x and pro) don't have extensive audio editing/fixing tools. I'm an audio engineer, and for simple normalization fixing try Adobe Audition or SOnic Foundry's Sound Forge. I use Pro Tools LE, but unless you have $500 to spend, try the trial version first.
     
  19. Leane

    Leane Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thx guys.
     

Share This Page