1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Age of Mythology backup problem

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by atomicglo, May 29, 2003.

  1. atomicglo

    atomicglo Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have been attempting to make a backup copy of age of mythology using alcohol 120%... one that does not require emulation. I use a liteon ltr52246s burner for reading and writing. This is connected to my computer via a promise ultra133 tx2 controller, due to the fact that i have two other dvd drives conencted directly to the motherboard. I have followed all of the guides related to making backup copies for discs using safedisc 2.x, and yet still receive "cannot locate the cdrom" messages while trying to run the program.. (i have had no problems installing the game with the copies, just trying to execute them) i have tried sveral computers thruoghout my house, including my laptop, which uses a toshiba sd-r2002 dvd/cdrw combo drive. The only computer the copies play on is the one i am using to make them... the one with alc 120 installed.

    System specs: (computer used for writing copies)

    2.4b Ghz pentium4
    512mb pc1066
    sb audigy2 platinum
    dvdreader- sony ddu1611
    dvdburner- sony dru500a
    cd burner- liteon ltr52246s (used for dumping/writing image)
    promise ultra133tx2 controller (used for liteon only)
    network card
    ati aiw 7500

    is there a problem with the liteon being connected to the controller card? or is it something else i am doing?
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2003
  2. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    If you're playing the backup in your Litey then tick "ignore media type& bad sector" emulation.
    I found better success backing up Safedisc 2 using my dvd\cd-rom to read the image with Safedisc 2 datatype profile (Alcohol 120) and burn. Play the backup in your [bold] dvd\cd-rom, NOT [/bold] your burner. I know your backup should work simply because a forum member named Rotary backed up this game with a Litey. Autorun needs to be enabled or backup won't play in your burner.

    Shoey :)__X_X_X_X_X_[small]Certified Computer Technician
    http://www.afterdawn.com
    Main Website^ (Afterdawn)
    http://www.afterdawn.com/general/legal.cfm
    Forum Rules^
    ------------------------------------------------
    Mobo: KT4VL MSI-6712
    CPU: AthlonXP Barton 2.5
    Ram: 512 SD-DDR[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2003
  3. atomicglo

    atomicglo Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thanks... it works in the dvd rom drive
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2003
  4. atomicglo

    atomicglo Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    But is there any reason why it wont work in laptop combo drive?
     
  5. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    i have done this game with latest blindwrite...

    if your combo is cdrw aswell then you will need to use HIDE CDR MEDIA...

    thx...
     
  6. atomicglo

    atomicglo Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok... it works now! thanks guys!
     
  7. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Just remember anytime you wan't to play the "backup" you'll need to install Alcohol 120 and if you play in your laptop then click emulation options "ignore media type& bad sectors emulation". Glad your backup works m8!

    Shoey :)
     

Share This Page