1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

An attempt was made to access an unnamed file past its end - dvdlab error

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by stevemt, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Iam getting this error when trying to compile in dvdlab.
    "An attempt was made to access an unnamed file past its end."
    Im going to try re-encoding but since it is a dvd with music videos there is alot of videos.
     
  2. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Just remove them, one at a time, until it works, then you know which one it is.
     
  3. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I did what you suggested but it did not help.
     
  4. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If you linked multiple movies together, set chapters, then changed the linking, you can get this error.
    If you set chapter points in one movie, then changed to a shorter version of a movie with the same name, you can get it.
    It comes from a mismatch between your menu structure, and the actual assets.
     
  5. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I re-encoded the videos and still get the same error so it must be something in my menus. I dont have any chapters setup and ive checked them all and they are linked correctly. Ill try redoing the menus.
     
  6. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried making new menus but that did not help either. So I dont know what else to try.
     
  7. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Are you using FAT32, or NTFS?
    Have you got enough room on the temp drive and the compile drive?
    Do you have mixed aspect ratios, framerates, and/or audio types in the compilation?
     
  8. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It is fat32. Yes I do have enough space. Originally they were not the same but I encoded them all the same.
     
  9. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im going to try a new version or pro of dvdlab.
     
  10. stevemt

    stevemt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I upgraded and it got past that error but made a _menu.vob file instead of the ifo's. While looking up that error it found it was the audio in the menu's. If I took out the audio it worked. Im going to still try and get the audio back into the menu's though. Thanks for the help.
     
  11. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The audio in the menus must be the same as the audio in the movies. MP3's don't work.
     

Share This Page