1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Attacks directed against your IP address

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by Mez, Apr 2, 2014.

1. Mez

Mez Active member

Paranoid me will post another threat

Here is a few links painting a terrifying picture. I have been battling with variants of this maleware for many years but did not know what it was till I ran across these articles. I feel a bit stupid for not identifying this sooner.

This botnet only proprogates by attacking IP addresses directly. Now the malware is stealthed by server side polymorphic obfuscating so it can not be found. Your only protection is a very good firewall. I would be surprised if less than a billion computers worldwide connected to the internet have minimal firewalls not able withstand an unsophisticated attack. I can provide my calculations but they are very conservative. Think of the computing capacity of 1 billion PCs! I am sure they will not all be infected by the same botnet. I think the likeliness of many not being infected is about the same as if you sprinkled small currency like a dollar or even a quarter in 100 places on sidewalks in a busy city not being picked up by someone within a day. That would be bad enough but the hackers keep learning new trick to infect more computers.

Gaobot.IRQ of 2004 when it propagated as a worm
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,1604481,00.asp

Gaobot.IRQ more recent attacks IP addresses as the only mode of replication
    http://www.pandasecurity.com/homeusers/security-info/80656/information/Gaobot.IRQ

Any of these malware can be stealthed to make it impossible to be found. Here is how it is done!
    http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2012/07/31/server-side-polymorphism-malware/

2. 2oldGeek

2oldGeek Active member

There are many situations that paranoia is 'just good thinking'.