1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup DVD's larger than a single 4.7 GB disk

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by sundance, Nov 17, 2002.

1. sundance

sundance Member

I'm new to backing up my DVD's. I was about to give it a try when I found very few production DVD's will fit on one 4.7GB DVD-R/RW. So what software is being used to split the DVD so it can be burned to more than one disk? I am using DVD Decrypter to make the backups.

Thanks,

Sundance

2. seamonkey

seamonkey Regular member

i use dvdsplit by derrow (the creator of ifoeditor); it is very easy, it lets you choose the chapter break and tells you how big each dvd will be, i don't know if you can choose the extras to keep but i hate the extras and want only the movie anyways..

however, if you check out www.doom9.net you can fit most dvd-9 dvds on a single 4.7GB. it just takes time and patience to figure out the process.
    if you have questions about the guides or antying, drop me a private msg
    peace
    seamonkey420

3. mike4692

mike4692 Member

Go to the following web page

http://www.hkruse.dircon.co.uk

it will get you started on fitting a dvd-9 on to a dvd-5. A very easy to follow guide, then go to the forums and read them and ask questions if you run in to a brick wall , it can get frustrating when it goes pear shaped but theres loads of experienced people to point u back to the right path

Last edited: Nov 19, 2002
  4. irishman

irishman Member

Where would I find dvdsplit??

5. mike4692

mike4692 Member

go to the derrows web site ;0)

6. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

sundance,

I put together a simple little receipe to help the "Newbie" perhaps it will be of help to you -

Welcome to the movie burning community -

This “Newbie Starter Recipe” is for the most part, is as a complete a package as anyone could wish It’s most outstanding plus factor, it only has 2 parts just 2.