1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BD to HDD as backup

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by seanymac, Dec 13, 2009.

1. seanymac

seanymac Member

A few questions as I am new to the BD forum. I've ripped/burned/backed up plenty of DVD's but this BD thing is very new to me.

It seems to me that ripping the BD's to HDD for back up is logical considering the price of disks. I already have a PC that will allow me to connect via HDMI to watch anything I want in 1080p.

I'm looking for a few recommendations for this process. I've already used AnyDVD to backup Star Trek and now I'm wondering if I should shrink this down or keep the current size of the movie (36gb). I think I'd rather knock the movie size down to 25GB. I've also downloaded PowerDVD in hopes of playing the ripped movie file, but the trial version is not allowing me to do this. Do I have to buy the full edition in order to playback movies from HDD?

I've seen some info about demuxing and rebuilding, so what's best to preserve audio and picture? Let me add that menus/commentary and things of that nature are of no interest to me, I'm all about keeping the quality of the picture and sound.

Detailed info is much appreciated, I'm very concerned about backing up my disks. Happy holidays.

2. emugamer

emugamer Regular member

Depending on the movie, you can get it down to 11GB and still have the quality transparent to the source. Extract the video using tsmuxer. Encode it using meGUI (compress it maintaining the same resolution). Remux the video with the original audio stream. Since you are playing the movies from your PC, make sure that you are up to date with your codecs. This is important if your audio stream is TrueHD or DTS HD. The programs I listed are free and you can get links to them in the Blu Ray backup sticky, along with a lot of detailed info.

3. seanymac

seanymac Member

Emugamer